Connecticut Annual Report Filing Directions
Connecticut Annual Report Filing Instructions
What is the cost to file the Connecticut annual report?
CT Domestic Stock Corporations (profit corporations): $150
CT Foreign Stock Corporations: $435
CT Domestic and Foreign LLCs: $20
CT Domestic and Foreign LPs: $20
CT Domestic and Foreign LLPs: $20
CT Domestic and Foreign Nonstock corporations (nonprofit): $50
CT Charity Annual Renewal: $50
How to file your Connecticut Commercial Recording Division annual report:
All registered businesses file an annual report except Connecticut religious corporations or Connecticut Statutory Trusts. You have to file your Connecticut annual report using the Secretary of State’s online filing system. The online process is not as easy as it could be.
If you are just filing one report a year, you are better off skipping over the account creation and saving yourself the hassle of picking a username, password a super secret security question, and giving them your email; then trying to remember it all a year later.
Go with the Express User option; it’s easier and quicker. We furnish a link below.
When is the Connecticut Annual Report Due?
Domestic stock coporations and Connecticut non profit corporations have an initial report due 30 days after their date of registration. Then corporations file a report by the end of their anniversary month each year. So if you filed your corporation in Connecticut on January 15th, you would have an initial report due within 30 days, then you would have an annual report due by January 31th the next year and each year after that.
Foreign stock and nonstock corporations, and domestic and foreign LLCs, LLPs, and LPs just file annual reports. Their annual reports are also due by the end of the anniversary month. So if your Connecticut LLC was filed on January 15th, you would file a report by the following January 31st, and by each January 31st after that.
Connecticut charities are required to register with the Attorney General’s office and renew annually. This renewal is due 5 months after fiscal year end, typically by May 31st.
Does Connecticut have Initial Report requirements?
If you are starting a business in Connecticut, you may have to file an initial report. Domestic corporations in Connecticut, both profit and nonprofit, (Connecticut refers to them as stock and non-stock) file the Organization and First Report within 30 days after holding their first organization meeting. Profit corporations pay $150 and nonprofits pay $50 for the initial report fee.
There are no late fees for businesses; you are just in default (not in good standing) with the Connecticut Secretary of State until you do file the report. Charities have a $25 penalty for late renewals.
How do I get notified?
Connecticut Secretary of State mails a reminder to your Connecticut registered agent. Be certain you have a reliable and knowledgeable registered agent to assist in keeping your company in good standing.
Who can file Connecticut annual reports?
The annual reports can be filed online by anyone authorized. The charity renewal must be signed by two officers of the charity.
Office of the Secretary of the State
Commercial Recording Division
30 Trinity Street
PO Box 150470
Hartford, CT 06115-0470
Phone: (860) 509-6002
Department of Consumer Protection
165 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06106-1630
Phone: (860) 713-6100
File Reports Online