How do you dissolve a Kansas Corporation?
The Kansas Secretary of State allows filing by mail, in person, online or by fax. If you file by fax, an additional $20 fee applies.
You can dissolve your Kansas corporation by filing electronically on the Kansas.gov Business Center website. You can get there by going to the SOS website and clicking on “Business Filing Center.” Then you can choose to file the dissolution. You will need the business entity name and/or business entity I.D. number from the Kansas Secretary of State (SOS). If you file online, you can pay by credit card or checking account.
There are three options for corporate dissolution. Choose the form you need based on whether your corporation has commenced business or issued stock. You will need to file one of the following forms with the Kansas SOS:
- Certificate of Dissolution Prior to Commencing Business
- For Profit Corporation Dissolution by Stockholders’ Meeting or
- For-Profit Corporation Dissolution by Written Consent
The forms you need are available on the Kansas Secretary of State (SOS) website or in your client account when you sign up with Northwest.
Deliver corporate dissolution documents to:
Kansas Office of the Secretary of State
Submit one original for filing. After processing, the SOS will mail the document back to the corporation.
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 S.W. 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
Phone: (785) 296-4564
Fax: (785) 296-4570
Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel a Kansas Corporation?
Paper dissolution filing fee: $35
Online dissolution filing fee: $30
Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Kansas Secretary of State will accept your dissolution?
No, Kansas does not require tax clearance to dissolve a corporation. However, if you have not filed your annual reports, Kansas SOS will not process your dissolution until they are current.
How long does it take the state to process the filing?
Normally, processing documents takes 2-3 business days. Online filing is immediate.
How long before someone can take your business name?
There is no protection for your corporate name following dissolution. Someone else could use your name immediately.
What is the penalty if you just don’t file your annual reports?
If your Kansas corporation does not file its annual report, an $85 penalty is assessed. The secretary of state will notify you by mail, (within 60 days after the date the annual report and fee were due) that your authority to do business in Kansas will be forfeited unless the annual report and fee are submitted within 90 days from the date the report and fee were due.
If a Kansas corporation does not file its annual report and fees, the SOS will not process the withdrawal until it receives the report and fees.
Kansas SOS business entity forms:
Kansas business center online filing: