Texas Nonprofit Corporation guidelines
How to form a Texas non profit corporation:
Once you have chosen your initial directors, you deliver the completed Certificate of Formation Nonprofit Corporation in duplicate to the Texas Secretary of State, in person, by mail or by fax, along with the filing fee.
What is the filing fee to start a Texas Non profit Corporation?
$25. Texas takes check, money order, cash or credit card. If paying by credit card, include the Payment Form.
How long does TX take to process your certificate?
Texas takes about a week to process incorporation. You can request one day processing for an additional $25.
How many directors are required in Texas?
You must list three initial directors.
How many incorporators are required in Texas?
You need at least one incorporator, called an organizer in Texas.
Do I have to be specific about the purpose of the Texas nonprofit?
Texas lets you state a general lawful purpose clause. If you are going for tax exemption, there are more requirements. See our Tax Exemption page.
Does my registered agent have to sign my TX certificate?
What are the annual fees to keep my Texas nonprofit organization active?
You will have a minimum annual franchise tax and report to the Texas Comptroller until you have been granted the tax exemption. You will owe the Secretary of State a Periodic Report every four years with a $5 fee.
Do I need to register as a Texas Charity?
Generally no, but if your charity raises money for law enforcement or veterans groups, you will need to register; law enforcement with the Texas Attorney General, and veterans with the TX Secretary of State. The registration forms are available in all Texas client accounts of ‘Northwest.’
Is there anything weird about incorporating a non profit in Texas?
No, it is actually fairly well laid out.
Texas Non Profit Formation Agency:
Texas Secretary of State
Ph: (512) 463-5555
Northwest Registered Agent, LLC.
Austin, TX 78701