Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing certificate of authority cancellation requirements and instructions
How to withdraw your foreign Alaska Limited Liability Company or Alaska Corporation Certificate of Authority:
Alaska Limited Liability Company:
If you fax your application, a Credit Card Payment Form is required. You should include the credit card form if you are filing by mail and you would like to pay by credit card. You may also pay fees by check or money order payable to the State of Alaska. The Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing does not require original signatures the application for cancellation/withdrawal. Faxed copies are okay.
How much does it cost to cancel your out of state registration with Alaska?
To withdraw/cancel your foreign LLC or corporation in Alaska, there is a $25 filing fee required.
Expedited service is not available.
Do you need an Alaska Department of Revenue clearance first?
No. You don’t need a tax clearance to withdraw an Alaska corporation or LLC.
How long does it take the state to process the withdrawal filing?
Normal processing takes 10-15 business days for mailed, faxed, or walked in documents. Expect a few additional days for return mailing. You will receive a file stamped copy by mail.
What agency do you need to file the withdrawal with?
State of Alaska
Phone: (907) 465-2550
What happens if you don’t file a cancellation and just let your biennial report filings go unfiled?
If your biennial report is not paid within six months of the due date, your business will be involuntarily revoked.
If you just don’t file a biennial report, how long before you lose your Certificate of Authority?
The Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing will mail a notice of delinquency stating the reason for revoking your Certificate of Authority as the biennial report was not filed. If you do not respond to the notice of delinquency within sixty days of mailing and fail to file your biennial report within six months of the due date, your Certificate of Authority to do business in Alaska will be revoked.
After the corporation or LLCs authority is revoked, you must file for reinstatement by paying all fees and penalties and filing all missed reports. You may only reinstate the foreign entity within two years of dissolution. If you wish to revive your Alaska company more than two years after your dissolution date, you must file a new application for authority.
What are the late fees and penalties to re-register if you didn’t file a withdrawal correctly?
The foreign entity would have to pay all the penalties and fees, within the two year time frame, to be reinstated. A foreign entity that does not file a biennial report by the due date is subject to a penalty of 10 percent of the amount of the business tax assessed against it for the period beginning January 1 of the year for which the report should have been filed. For every biennial report that is missed, there may also be a $25 penalty fee as well as double the original filing fee. The current biennial report fee for foreign corporations and LLCs is $200.
Any foreign entity that is withdrawn will need to file as if it was a new entity, including all applicable filing fees. The registration fee for a foreign entity is $350.
Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing:
AA Northwest Registered Agent, Inc.
Anchorage, AK 99503