Florida Department of State certificate of authority cancellation requirements and instructions
How to withdraw your foreign Florida Limited Liability Company or Florida Corporation Certificate of Authority:
Limited Liability Company authorized to do business in Florida:
Corporation authorized to do business in Florida:
How much does it cost to cancel your out of state registration with Florida?
To withdraw your foreign Limited Liability Company in Florida, there is a $25 filing fee. This will include a Certificate of Withdrawal from the Secretary of State.
To withdraw your foreign Corporation, a $35 filing fee is required (fee includes a letter of acknowledgment and a certificate of status/ withdrawal).
Expedited service is available the same day, if filed in person by 4:30 pm, at no additional charge.
Do you need a Florida Department of Revenue clearance first?
How long does it take the state to process the withdrawal filing?
Normal processing of a foreign withdrawal is approximately one week. You may request same-day processing if you walk your withdrawal application into the Secretary of State office. If you file your withdrawal online, it is processed in two or three days.
What agency do you need to file the withdrawal with?
Florida Department of State
What happens if you don’t file a cancellation and just let your annual report filings go unfiled?
Florida Code states that a Florida entity has failed to file its annual report form as required is subject to administrative dissolution. If the entity is a foreign entity, its certificate of authority to transact business in Florida will be administratively revoked. Business entities may reinstate by filing a reinstatement application online and paying the applicable fees.
If you just don’t file an annual report, how long before you lose your Certificate of Authority?
The Florida Department of State will revoke the Certificate of Authority of a foreign entity if its annual report is not filed and the fee is not paid by 5 p.m. Eastern Time on the third Friday in September. All annual reports are due on May 1st in Florida.
What are the late fees and penalties to re-register if you didn’t file a withdrawal correctly?
There is a late fee of an additional $400 after May 1st, along with the annual $150 fee. If you decide to re-register after the third Friday of September (date of revocation), the reinstatement fee is $100 for LLCs and $600 for corporations. Once your business status has been revoked, you may reinstate your business at any time by filing a reinstatement online through the Florida Department of State website.
Online Withdrawal Filing:
Northwest Registered Agent,LLC
Tampa, FL 33607