How To File An Amendment For An Alabama LLC
Step By Step Guide To Alabama LLC Amendents
What you need for Alabama LLC amendments:
- Filing fee: $50 Secretary of State fee. Each Alabama probate judge has a different fee schedule, so you’ll need to contact the probate judge’s office in the county where your Alabama LLC was formed for the appropriate fee.
- Domestic Limited Liability Company Amendment to Formation/Organization Form (can be found on the Alabama Secretary of State’s website).
- The filer’s original signature.
- Alabama Entity ID Number (you can find this six-digit number by performing and Alabama name search)
How to file an Alabama LLC Amendment:
To make amendments to your limited liability company in Alabama, you must submit an original and two copies of the Domestic Limited Liability Company Amendment to Formation/Organization form, with the recording fee, to the Judge of Probate in the county where the original Certificate of Formation is recorded, by mail or in person. An original signature is required. Call the appropriate Judge of Probate Office to get the exact recording fee, because they vary from county to county. Northwest Registered Agent is in Shelby County, and the Judge of Probate’s recording fee for amendments there is $30.
Can you restate the initial certificate instead of filing an amendment?
Yes. However, the Alabama Secretary of State does not provide a form for filing restated Certificate of Formation. The fee for a restated Certificate of Formation is $25 for the judge of probate and $10 for the State of Alabama.
Are there any specifics you can or can’t include with an Alabama LLC amendment?
You may amend any original Certificate of Formation that is approved by a majority vote of the members entitled to vote.
How much does an Alabama limited liability company amendment cost?
To amend your LLC in Alabama, there is a $50 filing fee required by the Secretary of State, and the Judge of Probate will charge for recording. You will need to call the office in the county your Certificate of Formation is recorded to learn the fee. If Northwest Registered Agent is your company’s original registered agent, your certificate is recorded in Shelby County; the Judge of Probate charges $30 for amendments.
How long does it take the State to process an Alabama limited liability company amendment?
The Judge of Probate must have your articles of amendment recorded, certified and forwarded to the Alabama Secretary of State within ten days.
How will the LLC amendment be returned?
You will receive a certified copy of the filed amendment by mail.
What state agency do you file an amendment with?
The Judge of Probate in the county your business resides in. Find the current list is of Probate Judges in Alabama and their contact information at the following link:
If we are your original agent in Alabama you would send your amendment to:
Shelby County Judge of Probate
P.O. Box 825
Columbiana, AL 35051-0825
Can you change the Alabama LLC members or managers on an amendment?
Can you change the Alabama registered agent on the amendment?
Can you change the principal office address and/or the mailing address on an LLC amendment?