Facebook

Processing. Please Wait.

Northwest Registered Agent, LLC
Get Started
Get Started

Create a Free Account

Our free account and tools will help you get started and maintain your business. All for free. Enter your information below to create your free account.

  • Minimum 8 characters long
  • At least 1 capital and lowercase letter
  • At least 1 number
  • At least 1 special character

Free Download

Template

Choose to view the in another tab or to download the PDF.

How to Dissolve an Alaska LLC

 

How do you dissolve an Alaska limited liability company?

To dissolve your LLC in Alaska, you must provide the completed Articles of Dissolution Limited Liability Company form, in duplicate, to the Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing by mail, fax or in person. If faxing your request, a Credit Card Payment Form is required. If you mail the articles, you may include the credit card form. You may also include a check or money order payable to the State of Alaska. The Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing does not require original signatures. They will accept faxed copies of the articles of dissolution.

A dissolved LLC may not carry on any business except as appropriate to wind up and liquidate its business and affairs.

Alaska Limited Liability Company Dissolution FAQ

Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel an Alaska LLC?

To dissolve your limited liability company in Alaska, there is a $25 filing fee required.

Expedited service is not available.

Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing will accept your dissolution?

No.

How long does it take the state to process the filing?

The normal processing time for mailed, faxed or hand delivered documents is 10-15 business days, plus additional time for return mailing. You will receive a file stamped copy by mail.

How long before someone can take your business name?

As soon as you dissolve your LLC or corporation, the business name can be requested by another entity. However, if your company is involuntarily dissolved, your business name will be safe for six (6) months.

What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your biennial reports?

An entity that fails or refuses to file a biennial report by the due date is subject to a penalty of 10 percent of the amount of the business tax assessed against it for the period beginning January 1 of the year for which the report should have been filed.

The Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing will mail a notice of delinquency stating the reason for dissolution as the biennial report was not filed. If you do not respond to the notice of delinquency within sixty days of mailing and fail to file your biennial report within six months of the due date, your Alaska LLC will be dissolved.

After the six months has passed, you must file for reinstatement by paying all fees and penalties and filing all missed reports, if filed within two years of dissolution. If you wish to revive your Alaska company more than two years after your dissolution date, you must file as a new entity.

State of Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing contact info:

State of Alaska
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Corporations Section

Mailing Address:
PO Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806

Street Address:
333 W. Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor
Juneau, AK 99801

Phone: (907) 465-2550
Fax File: (907) 465-2974

Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing:

http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/cbpl/Home.aspx

If you’d like help establishing another company, you may find our incorporation filing service and Alaska registered agent service helpful. We provide all the forms and filing instructions you may need in your online account, or you can just hire us to do the filing for you.

Corporate Compliance
by Local Corporate Guides®