How to Dissolve a Kansas LLC
How do you dissolve or cancel a Kansas Limited Liability Company?
Kansas Secretary of State (SOS) allows filing by mail, in person, online, and by fax (for an additional $20 fee)
For online filing: Visit the Kansas.gov Business Center website. You can get there by going to the SOS website and clicking on “Business Filing Center.” Then you can choose to file the cancellation. You will need the business entity name and/or business entity I.D. number from the SOS. You can pay for online filing by credit card or checking account.
For paper filing: The forms you need are available on the Kansas Secretary of State (SOS) website or in your client account when you sign up with Northwest. To dissolve your Kansas LLC, file the Limited Liability Company Certificate of Cancellation with the Kansas Secretary of State.
Deliver dissolution documents to:
Kansas Office of the Secretary of State
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 S.W. 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
Phone: (785) 296-4564
Fax: (785) 296-4570
Submit one original for filing. After processing, it will be mailed to the LLC.
Kansas Limited Liability Company Dissolution FAQ
Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel a Kansas LLC?
It costs $35 to dissolve your Kansas LLC. If you file online, dissolution will only cost $30.
Your registered agent in Kansas may be able to help you with the dissolution process.
Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Kansas Secretary of State will accept your dissolution?
No, you don’t need tax clearance to dissolve your LLC or corporation. But if you have any delinquent annual reports, the Kansas SOS won’t process the dissolution until you file them.
How long does it take the state to process the filing?
Processing generally takes the Secretary of State 2-3 business days.
Online filings are processed immediately.
How long before someone can take your business name?
Someone else can use your name immediately after dissolution or administrative dissolution.
What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your annual reports?
If your Kansas LLC does not file its annual report, an $85 penalty is assessed. Then the secretary of state will notify the you by mail, (within 60 days after the date the annual report and fee were due) that your authority to do business in Kansas will be forfeited unless the annual report and fee are submitted within 90 days from the date the report and fee were due.
If a Kansas LLC wants to dissolve, but hasn’t filed its annual report and fees, the SOS will not process the LLC’s dissolution. If the entity has forfeited, it must reinstate before the SOS will process the dissolution.
What are the late fees and penalties to re-register if your registration is terminated?
In order to be reinstated, a Kansas LLC must file the Kansas Reinstatement of Limited Liability Company form. To reinstate, you must include (in the same envelope) the completed reinstatement form, the $35 reinstatement fee, the $85 penalty fee, and any delinquent annual reports and annual report fees.
Kansas SOS business entity forms:
Kansas business center online filing: