Facebook

Processing. Please Wait.

Northwest Registered Agent, LLC
Get Started
Get Started

Create a Free Account

Our free account and tools will help you get started and maintain your business. All for free. Enter your information below to create your free account.

  • Minimum 8 characters long
  • At least 1 capital and lowercase letter
  • At least 1 number
  • At least 1 special character

Free Download

Template

Choose to view the in another tab or to download the PDF.

How to Dissolve a Louisiana LLC

 

How do you dissolve/terminate a Louisiana Limited Liability Company?

To dissolve/terminate your domestic LLC in Louisiana you have two options, online or paper form.

Louisiana will send you a Certificate of Dissolution after you submit the notarized Affidavit to Dissolve Limited Liability Company with the appropriate filing fee by mail or fax.

Louisiana offers an easy online filing system that can be accessed from the link at the bottom of the page.

Louisiana Limited Liability Company Dissolution FAQ

What is the filing fee to dissolve or terminate a Louisiana LLC?

To dissolve your Limited Liability Company in Louisiana, there is a $75 filing fee required.

Your Louisiana registered agent may be able to help with the dissolution process.

Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Louisiana Secretary of State will accept your dissolution?

No. Domestic businesses in Louisiana may dissolve without tax clearances.

How long does it take the state to process the filing?

Most documents filed with the Louisiana Secretary of State are processed in approximately one week. You may expedite for an additional $30, which usually means approximately 24-hour processing to receive your Certificate of Dissolution.

How long before someone can take your business name?

Right after you dissolve your LLC or corporation. Immediately after a Certificate of Dissolution is issued, the business name can be requested and claimed by another entity.

What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your annual reports?

Louisiana doesn’t have penalties or interest charges for late filing your annual report. Simply filing your delinquent annual report without a penalty, returns your LLC to “Good Standing” status. A Domestic Limited Liability Company may miss three years worth of annual reports before the Louisiana Secretary of State will revoke your organization, and even then you only have to file your last report and a reinstatement to restore your “Good Standing.”

Where do I send my Louisiana LLC Articles of Dissolution?

Mailing address:

Louisiana Secretary of State
Commercial Division
P.O. Box 94125
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125

Walk in Address:

8585 Archives Avenue
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Phone: (225) 925-4704
Fax:  (225) 932-5314
Email: commercial@sos.louisiana.gov

Louisiana SOS Website

 

Corporate Compliance
by Local Corporate Guides®