Rhode Island Application for Registration of Foreign Rhode Island LLCWe’re Just Not Annoying®
FOREIGN RHODE ISLAND LLC CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY
What does it cost to register a foreign LLC in Rhode Island?
$150 for normal processing.
How long does it take for the state to process the Rhode Island Application for Registration?
Normal Processing: 5-7 business days.
In Person Processing: next business day at no additional charge.
How will I get verification of registration back from Rhode Island?
You will not receive anything in return by mail. However, you can print any verification that you may need from their website.
What forms do I file with Rhode Island to register my out of state LLC?
The Application for Registration form, a Certificate of Good Standing and the filing fee is required.
What do I need from my home state?
A Certificate of Good Standing.
Does it need to be an original copy?
How current does the certificate need to be?
Must be current within 60 days of filing.
Will I need an Rhode Island registered agent for my LLC?
Yes, when you hire Northwest as your LLC in Rhode Island. It’s the same price every year, and there are no weird fees or cancellation fees.
You’ll also see all the pre-populated forms and specific filing instructions on the thank you page, in your online account, and they will be emailed to you immediately upon signing up for 1 year of registered agent service.
Does the Rhode Island registered agent need to sign the filing?
How can I file the Rhode Island Application for Registration?
By mail or in person.
What is the state agency that accepts the out of state registration?
Rhode Island Secretary of State
148 West River Street
Providence, RI 02904-2615
Phone: (401) 222-3040
Do the signatures on the Rhode Island LLC application need to be original?
Who has to sign the foreign LLC filing?
A person authorized by the LLC must sign the form.
Are there any weird things about registering in Rhode Island?
County filing or publication is not necessary, unless specifically required by the county in which your registered agent resides.
Are there ongoing Rhode Island annual report and/or initial reporting requirements?
Annual reports are due November 1st. The first RI annual report is due the next year after you file.
What are your fees?
You’ll need to have an Rhode Island registered agent. We charge $125 a year to act as your registered agent in Rhode Island. It’s a flat rate, once a year fee, and includes more than other registered agents. Here’s a little more about our registered agent service.
We charge a $100 one-time filing service fee if you would like us to obtain the certificates needed from your home state, and register your company in any state you choose. We have offices in every state and can act as your registered agent and make your filings for you in any state. If you would like to register with multiple states at once, we can usually drop our filing service fee down.
Additional RI LLC Resources: