Mississippi corporation dissolution with the Mississippi Secretary of State
How to dissolve a Mississippi corporation
How do you dissolve a Mississippi corporation?
After your corporation authorizes dissolution, you can dissolve your Mississippi corporation by filing the articles of dissolution with the Mississippi Secretary of State (SOS).
You can submit the articles by mail or in person. You can access the fillable dissolution forms in your online account when you sign up for Mississippi registered agent service with Northwest. Forms are also available on the Mississippi SOS website. Make checks for fees payable to “Secretary of State.”
If your corporation has not issued shares and/or commenced business, file the completed Mississippi form F0029-Articles of Dissolution (by Incorporators or Initial Directors), Profit Corporation
Otherwise, submit one signed copy of Mississippi form F0014-Articles of Dissolution (by Directors and Shareholders), Profit Corporation to the SOS.
Mail or deliver your articles of dissolution to:
Office of the Mississippi Secretary of State
Business Services Division
700 North Street P.O. Box 136
Jackson, MS 39205-0136
Phone: (601) 359-1333
Fax: (601) 359-1499
Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel a Mississippi corporation?
Articles of Dissolution: $25
Do you need Mississippi Department of Revenue clearance before the Mississippi Secretary of State will accept your dissolution?
No, you don’t need to get Mississippi Department of Revenue tax clearance before you can dissolve your Mississippi corporation.
How long does it take the state to process the filing in Mississippi?
It takes Mississippi SOS 24-48 hours to process your documents.
Mississippi SOS does not offer expedited processing of business documents. Filing in person can cut out mailing time, but Mississippi SOS won’t actually process the documents any faster.
Once documents are filed, you can view them online by going to the SOS Business Services website and click the “Search Listings” link. Then you can search for your business name, ID, officers or registered agent to see the corporations filed documents.
Can you revoke the Mississippi corporations dissolution?
Yes, you just file form F0019-Articles of Revocation of Dissolution (Profit Corporation) within 120 days following the effective date of dissolution. There is a $25 filing fee.
How long before someone can take your business name?
There is no protection for a Mississippi corporations name following voluntary dissolution or administrative dissolution. The name becomes available for use by other businesses immediately after the corporation is dissolved by the Mississippi SOS.
What is the penalty if you just don’t file your annual reports?
Domestic Mississippi corporations are required to file annual reports with the Office of the Secretary of State. If a corporation does not file its annual report, Mississippi SOS will give the corporation notice and then administratively dissolve it. If the SOS has not received the annual report 60 days after the due date, the Secretary of State will notify the business through its Mississippi registered agent that it is past due. If the corporation still hasn’t filed the report 60 days after the notice, the Secretary of State will administratively dissolve the corporation.