What does it cost to register a foreign LLC in Utah?
$70 for online filing.
$70 for normal processing.
$75 additional for expedited processing.
How long does it take for the state to process the Utah Application for Registration?
Online Processing: 2 business days.
Normal Processing: 7-10 business days, plus additional time for mailing.
In Person Processing: 7-10 business days, plus additional time for mailing.
Expedited Processing: 2 business days, plus additional time for mailing.
How will I get verification of registration back from Utah?
You will receive a Certificate of Registration by mail unless filing online. If filing online you will need to wait the 2 business days and log onto the system to print your Certificate of Registration.
What forms do I file with Utah to register my out of state LLC?
The Application for Authority to Transact Business form (in duplicate), a Certificate of Good Standing and the filing fee is required.
What do I need from my home state?
A Certificate of Good Standing/Existence is required.
Does it need to be an original copy?
How current does the certificate need to be?
It must be current within 90 days.
Will I need an Utah registered agent for my LLC?
Yes, when you hire Northwest as your registered agent, it's a flat rate yearly price of $125 a year, you'll have an online account that tracks your report due dates, which states you are registered in, when your yearly service with us is up, and any documents we receive locally for you are uploaded into your account immediately for complete viewing. If or when you get served with a lawsuit, we can email up to 4 people and your attorney at the same time for real time complete viewing of a lawsuit. You'll receive annual report reminders. It's the same price every year, and there are no weird fees or cancellation fees.
You'll also see all the pre-populated forms and specific filing instructions on the thank you page, in your online account, and they will be emailed to you immediately upon signing up for 1 year of registered agent service.
Does the Utah registered agent need to sign the filing?
Not as long as you are listing a commercial registered agent.
How can I file the Utah Application for Registration?
By mail, fax, in person or online. If you are faxing you must include, on a cover sheet, the number of a Visa, MasterCard, or American Express with the date of expiration.
What is the state agency that accepts the out of state registration?
Utah Division of Corporations
PO Box 146705
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6705
Heber M. Wells Building
160 E. 300 S., 1st Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Do the signatures on the Utah LLC application need to be original?
Who has to sign the foreign LLC filing?
A member or a manager of the LLC must sign the form.
Are there any weird things about registering in Utah?
County filing or publication is not necessary, unless specifically required by the county in which your registered agent resides.
Are there ongoing Utah annual report and/or initial reporting requirements?
Annual renewals are due exactly 1 year after you register your business.
What are your fees?
You'll need to have an Utah registered agent. We charge $125 a year to act as your registered agent in Utah. It's a flat rate, once a year fee, and includes more than other registered agents. Here's a little more about our registered agent service.
We charge a $100 one-time filing service fee if you would like us to obtain the certificates needed from your home state, and register your company in any state you choose. We have offices in every state and can act as your registered agent and make your filings for you in any state. If you would like to register with multiple states at once, we can usually drop our filing service fee down.