How To Reinstate A Rhode Island Corporation
Reinstate Or Revive A Rhode Island Corporation:
If your Rhode Island corporation was revoked by the Rhode Island Secretary of State (SOS), you can reinstate within 10 years after the revocation. There is no Rhode Island SOS form to reinstate, but there are several other requirements.
Rhode Island Corporation reinstatement requirements:
- Submit all documents and fees that you failed to file.
- Pay penalties for each year your were revoked.
- Letter of good standing from the Rhode Island Division of Taxation (RIDT).
- If your name isn’t available, you’ll need to file a name change amendment.
All the documents and instructions you will need to reinstate are in your online account when you sign up for registered agent services with northwest. You can file your corporate reinstatement forms and fees by mail or in person. Checks for fees should be payable to Rhode Island Secretary of State.
Office of the Secretary of State
148 W. River Street
Providence, Rhode Island 02904-2615
Phone: (401) 222-3040
Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM – 4:30 PM
How do you get a Letter of Good Standing from the Rhode Island Division of Taxation?
You just have to contact RIDT to get a Request for Letter of Good Standing form. You can also find the form in your online account when you sign up for registered agent services with Northwest.
Download an application at the RIDT website: (see link below).
To have an application mailed to you call: (401) 574-8970.
For questions about good standing call: (401) 574-8756.
Fill out the application and submit it to RIDT. Include a check payable to the RI Division of Taxation.
Letter of Good Standing
Office Audit and Discovery
Rhode Island Division of Taxation
One Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908
How much will it cost to renew a Rhode Island Corporation?
Fees for any annual report your corporation failed to file – $50 each.
Penalties since the revocation – $50 per year.
Letter of good standing from RIDT – $50.
How long does it take the state to process the filing?
Documents filed by mail are processed in 7-10 business days.
Documents submitted in person before 4 pm are processed the same day.
You can view or print filed documents online (see link below).
It usually takes 4 weeks to get a letter of good standing from RIDT, depending on the taxpayer. If you have failed to provide any information, it will delay processing.
How long does your Rhode Island Corporation have to be inactive with the state before you wouldn’t have any fees, and would just have to start over with a new Rhode Island Corporation?
If your Rhode Island corporation was forfeited, you have a ten year period in which you can reinstate it.
If you do not want to reinstate your corporation and you would like to start a new business entity instead, Rhode Island SOS will allow you to file the new business entity. Your old name will be available for use one year after you are forfeited. If you do not reinstate the old corporation, you may want to consult an accountant about the tax implications.
Can you change your Rhode Island registered agent at the same time on the Rhode Island renewal?
There is no SOS reinstatement form that you need to file.
You can’t change your Rhode Island registered agent on the annual report either. You have to file the change of agent form.
Can you change your principal address at the same time on the Rhode Island renewal form?
There is no Rhode Island reinstatement form to file. You can change your principal address on the annual report you file when you reinstate.
Can you change your officers and directors at the same time on the Rhode Island renewal form?
There is no form to reinstate a Rhode Island corporation. You can change officers and directors on the annual report form that you file when you reinstate.
How many annual reports can you miss before you can’t renew your Rhode Island corporation?
You can reinstate a corporation or LLC within 10 years following the date your corporation was revoked.