Processing. Please Wait.

Our free account and tools will help you get started and maintain your business. All for free. Enter your information below to create your free account.

  • Minimum 8 characters long
  • At least 1 capital and lowercase letter
  • At least 1 number
  • At least 1 special character

Free Download


Choose to view the in another tab or to download the PDF.

How to Dissolve a South Carolina LLC


How do you dissolve a South Carolina Limited Liability Company?

To dissolve a South Carolina LLC, file Articles of Termination, in duplicate, with the South Carolina Secretary of State, Division of Business Filings (SOS). The form is available on the SOS website (see link below). You may type or print on SOS forms in black ink. Include a self-addressed, stamped envelope so the SOS can send a copy of the filed document back to you.

You can submit documents to the South Carolina SOS by mail, by UPS/FedEx, or in person (between 8:30 am and 4:45 pm). The South Carolina SOS accepts cash, personal checks, and money orders. The office does not accept debit or credit cards. Checks should be payable to the Secretary of State’s Office.

South Carolina Secretary of State’s Office Attn:

Business Filings Division
1205 Pendleton Street, Suite 525
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 734-2158

South Carolina Limited Liability Company Dissolution FAQ

Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel a South Carolina LLC?

There is a $10 filing fee to dissolve an LLC or corporation.

Your South Carolina registered agent service may be able to help you terminate your LLC.

Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the South Carolina Secretary of State will accept your dissolution?

No. You don’t need Department of Revenue clearance to dissolve a South Carolina LLC.

How long does it take the state to process the filing?

The South Carolina SOS usually processes documents within two business days. Processing can take longer if the SOS is busier than usual.

How long before someone can take your business name?

If the company was dissolved voluntarily the name is available 120 days after the effective date of dissolution. If the company was dissolved administratively, the name becomes available 2 years after the effective date of dissolution.

What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your annual reports?

South Carolina LLCs are not required to submit an annual report to the Secretary of State. The South Carolina LLCs reporting requirements depend on how it is taxed by the South Carolina Department of Revenue (DOR). LLCs that are taxed as corporations are required to file an annual report and pay a license fee when they file their return with the DOR.

If a South Carolina LLC does not file returns or taxes owed to the DOR, the LLC will receive a notice that it is delinquent. The LLC has 60 days from the date of notice to comply and file its delinquent return/report. If the LLC does not pay all taxes due within 60 days, the South Carolina SOS will administratively dissolve the LLC.

What are the late fees and penalties to reinstate if your LLC is forfeited?

South Carolina LLCs that have been administratively dissolved only have two years to apply for reinstatement. In order to reinstate, the LLC would have to pay all taxes and penalties due, obtain a clearance from the department of revenue, and file an application for reinstatement with the South Carolina SOS.

Application for reinstatement: $25 Tax certificate: $60 Taxes and penalties will vary. Contact the South Carolina DOR to find out what you owe.

South Carolina Secretary of State:

Official South Carolina SOS Website

When You Want More