How to Dissolve a Louisiana Corporation
How do you dissolve a Louisiana Corporation?
To dissolve your corporation in Louisiana, you file the completed Affidavit to Dissolve Corporation form by mail, in person or by fax to the Secretary of State along with the filing fee. The affidavit must be signed in the presence of a notary public.
You can file the same document online and go without the notarization.
Louisiana Corporation Dissolution FAQ
What is the filing fee to dissolve or cancel a Louisiana Corporation?
To dissolve your Louisiana Corporation, a $60 filing fee is required. Expedite is an additional $30.
Your Louisiana registered agent may be able to help you with the dissolution process.
Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Louisiana Secretary of State will accept your dissolution?
No. Only foreign businesses need the tax clearance.
How long does it take the state to process the filing in Louisiana?
Normal processing is seven to ten days and expedited processing is approximately 24 hours.
How long before someone can take your business name?
If you voluntarily dissolve a corporation or LLC in Louisiana, the business name is immediately available to another entity that wishes to register with the secretary of state using your name.
What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your annual reports?
Louisiana has no penalties or interest payments for delinquent annual reports. Your business is listed as “Not in Good Standing,” and if you are delinquent for three years, your charter will be revoked by the Secretary of State.
Where do I send my Louisiana Corporate Articles of Dissolution?
Louisiana Secretary of State
P.O. Box 94125
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125
Walk in Address:
8585 Archives Avenue
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Phone: (225) 925-4704
Fax: (225) 932-5314
Email Questions: firstname.lastname@example.org