How to Revive a Kansas LLC
To revive a Kansas LLC, you’ll need to file the Kansas Certificate of Reinstatement of Limited Liability Company with the Kansas Secretary of State. You’ll also have to fix the issues that led to your Kansas LLC’s dissolution. Below, we provide a free, step-by-step guide to reinstating your Kansas LLC.
Revive Or Reinstate A Kansas LLC
The Kansas Secretary of State has the power to forfeit your LLC if you fail to do any of the following:
- appoint and maintain a registered agent
- file biennial reports
- properly file paperwork to change your registered agent and/or registered office
- pay any owed fees or penalties
To get back into business again, you can apply for reinstatement. To revive or reinstate your Kansas LLC, you’ll need to submit the following to the Kansas Secretary of State:
- a completed Certificate of Reinstatement of Limited Liability Company
- all past due biennial reports
- the $35 filing fee plus fees for late biennial reports, if needed
What information do I need to complete the Kansas Certificate of Reinstatement of Limited Liability Company?
To complete the Certificate of Reinstatement, you’ll need to provide your payment information, contact information, business entity ID number, the name of your LLC, your registered agent information, and the mailing address where you’d like any official mail from the SOS sent.
The form also includes a statement affirming that your Kansas LLC has been forfeited. It must be signed by a person authorized by the LLC to do business on its behalf.
What if my Kansas LLC’s name was taken?
If the name of your Kansas LLC was adopted by another business during forfeiture, you’ll need to choose a new name.
You can change your name on the Kansas Certificate of Reinstatement on question #2 by filling in your old name, and then adding “LLC changing its name to” and your new name. This will officially change your Kansas LLC’s name.
How do I file the Kansas Certificate of Reinstatement?
You can submit the Kansas Certificate of Reinstatement to the Kansas SOS in person, by mail, or fax. You cannot file online. The SOS prefers if you don’t staple your documents.
If you file by fax, you’ll be charged an extra $20.
Payment options depend on how you plan to file:
- Mail: Credit card, check, or money order (payable to “Secretary of State”)
- Fax: Credit card only
- In Person: Check, money order, or credit card
How much will it cost to revive a Kansas LLC?
The filing fee for a Certificate of Reinstatement is $35. You’ll also have to pay to file each missed biennial report ($100 online, $110 paper filing) and a penalty ($85).
How long does it take to reinstate a Kansas LLC?
Typical processing time for the Kansas Certificate of Reinstatement is 2-3 business days.
Can you change your Kansas registered agent on the Kansas Reinstatement?
Yes, you can change your Kansas registered agent on the Certificate of Reinstatement.
How long do you have to revive a Kansas LLC?
Where do I submit my Kansas LLC reinstatement application?
Reinstatement applications are processed by the Kansas Secretary of State.
Mailed and In-Person Filings:
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 S.W. 10th Ave.
Topeka, KS 66612
Business Services, (785) 296-4570