Facebook

Processing. Please Wait.

Northwest Registered Agent, LLC
Get Started
Get Started

Create a Free Account

Our free account and tools will help you get started and maintain your business. All for free. Enter your information below to create your free account.

  • Minimum 8 characters long
  • At least 1 capital and lowercase letter
  • At least 1 number
  • At least 1 special character

Free Download

Template

Choose to view the in another tab or to download the PDF.

How to Dissolve an Alaska Corporation

How do you dissolve an Alaska corporation?

To dissolve your corporation in Alaska, you must file a Certificate of Election to Dissolve, before or at the same time as, the Articles of Dissolution form. File in duplicate with the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing by mail, fax or in person. If you fax your request, a Credit Card Payment Form is required. The division also accepts checks/money orders payable to the State of Alaska. You may also use the form for mailed filings. The division does not require original signatures. They will accept faxed/electronic signatures.

After you dissolve a corporation or LLC, you may not carry on any business except as appropriate to wind up and liquidate business and affairs.

Alaska Corporation Dissolution FAQ

Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel an Alaska corporation?

To dissolve your Alaska corporation a $15 filing fee for the Articles of Dissolution and a $10 filing fee for the Certificate of Election to Dissolve is required. Expedited service is not available.

Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing will accept your dissolution?

No.

How long does it take the state to process the filing?

Normal processing of mailed, faxed, or walked-in documents takes 10-15 business days, plus additional time for return mailing.

You will receive a file stamped copy by mail. Your Alaska registered agent will typically not receive this for you.

How long before someone can take your business name?

As soon as a business is dissolved, the business name can be requested by another entity. However, if your business is involuntarily dissolved, your business name will be safe for six months.

What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your biennial reports?

An entity that fails or refuses to file a biennial report by the due date is subject to a penalty of 10 percent of the amount of the business tax assessed against it for the period beginning January 1 of the year for which the report should have been filed.

If you fail to file the biennial report, the Alaska Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing will mail a notice of delinquency. The notice will state that the reason for dissolution is failure to file a biennial report. If you do not respond to the notice of delinquency within 60 days of mailing and you fail to file your biennial report within six months of the due date, your business in Alaska will be dissolved. The fee to file a domestic LLC annual report is currently $100.

If you are dissolved and you wish to reinstate, you will have to pay all fees and penalties and file all missed reports. You can only apply for reinstatement within two years of dissolution. If you wish to revive your Alaska business more than two years after your dissolution date, you must file as a new entity. Filing new articles of organization will cost $250.

State of Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing contact info:

State of Alaska
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Corporations Section

Mailing Address:
PO Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806

Street Address:
333 W. Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor
Juneau, AK 99801

Phone: (907) 465-2550
Fax File: (907) 465-2974

Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing:

http://commerce.state.ak.us/dnn/cbpl/Corporations.aspx

Corporate Compliance
by Local Corporate Guides®