Colorado Periodic Report Service & Filing Instructions
Corporate Compliance by Local Corporate Guides®
All Colorado LLCs and Corporations must file a Periodic Report (also called an annual report) once a year by the end of their anniversary month. For example, if you formed a Colorado LLC on June 14, 2019 your annual report due date would be June 30, 2020. These reports are filed with the Colorado Secretary of State. Below, we have provided step-by-step instructions for filing your Colorado Periodic Report. Our guide covers annual report due dates, fees, filing instructions, and answers to frequently asked questions.
We'll File For You
We’ll worry about filing your Colorado annual report so you don’t have to.
- Guaranteed On-Time Filing
- Professional Preparation
- Maintain Good Standing
- Keep Your Company Active
When we file your annual report, we help keep your personal information private.
- Stay Off “Inactive” Lists
- Keep State Info Current
- State Records Monitoring
- Update Records Instantly
Colorado Annual Report Service$100 + State Fees
How to File Your Colorado Periodic Report
To file your Colorado annual report, you’ll need to complete the following steps:
- Determine your company’s filing month (this is determined by the anniversary month). Don’t remember when you formed your business? You can find your filing due date by searching the Colorado business database.
- Colorado Periodic Reports must be filed electronically on the Colorado Secretary of State website.
- Complete your report, submit it, and pay the $10 filing fee.
We’ve provided a guide below to help you complete these steps and successfully file your Colorado annual report.
Colorado Periodic Report Due Dates and Fees
Colorado annual report fees are the same for all business entities; however, the due date depends on when the company was originally formed. We’ve organized this information into an easy-to-read chart below.
Colorado Periodic Report Fee Schedule
How to File
Colorado annual reports are filed every year. The date you must file by is determined by when you originally formed your business in Colorado. For example, if you registered your company on June 14th, your annual report due date would be June 30 the following year.
All Business Entities (Corporations, LLCs, nonprofits, partnerships, and foreign entities)
The last day of your anniversary month
Late Fees: If you don’t file your annual report on time, you will have two additional months to file without a penalty fee. After the two month grace period, you will need to pay a $50 late fee.
Filing Your Colorado Periodic Report
You must file your Colorado annual report online.
- On the state website, go to the Colorado Business Organizations homepage.
- On the Business homepage, click on “Periodic report filing.”
- Type in your business name or ID number in the search box and click “search.”
If you enter an ID number, you will see the “Record Confirmation” page next. Review the information, then click “confirm.”
If you enter the business name, you will see a list of search results. Find the correct business, then click on the ID number on the left.
- Fill out the Periodic Report form and click “submit” when you are done.
When filling out the periodic report, you’ll include the following information and update it if necessary:
- Entity ID number
- Name and address of the company.
- Name and address of your registered agent in Colorado.
- Name(s) and address(es) of the individual (s) filing the periodic report.
After clicking “submit,” you will be prompted to enter a credit or debit card number to pay the $10 filing fee.
Rather not deal with the hassle of filing yourself? Or worried you’ll forget to file? Avoid incurring late fees and penalties when you hire Northwest Registered Agent to file your Colorado annual report for you.
Get Colorado Periodic Report Service Today!GET STARTED
How Our Colorado Periodic Report Service Works
For $100 plus the state-mandated report fee, we’ll file your periodic report. For all businesses, that’s $110 total.
- You can sign up for this service by itself or add it to an existing service inside your client account. Compliance service is also automatically added when you hire us to provide your registered agent service or form your Colorado LLC, Colorado corporation or Colorado nonprofit.
- Once you’re signed up for compliance service, you’ll pay nothing up front. We’ll send you a reminder 90 days before your filing due date and auto-charge your preferred payment method five days later.
Periodic Report Service Benefits
At Northwest Registered Agent, we’re committed to protecting our clients’ privacy. Colorado Periodic Reports are public record, so we’ve designed our periodic report service to protect your privacy. Here’s how:
- In order to preserve your privacy, we will list OUR contact information instead of yours on the report form.
- Only the minimum required information will be included.
- We will list our IP address – limiting the connection between your cell phone, personal computer, and work computers – this makes it harder for advertisers to follow you.
- We will list our bank and credit card information – not yours.
We believe everyone has the right to keep their information private. That’s why privacy is our guiding principle when we create every service and product.
Colorado Periodic Report FAQ
What is a Periodic Report?
The periodic report is an annual report submitted to the Colorado Secretary of State by all foreign and domestic business entities. Filing this report is legally required and allows businesses to keep their information current and make any necessary updates such as the entities’ registered agent.
How much does it cost to file the Colorado Periodic Report?
The Colorado annual report costs $10 to file for all foreign and domestic business entities.
When is the Colorado Periodic Report Due?
The report filing period for all foreign and domestic Colorado business entities begins on the first day of the anniversary month and ends on the last day of the same month.
What happens if I don’t file my Colorado Periodic Report?
If you don’t file your Colorado annual report on time, you’ll have a two month grace period before having to pay a $50 late fee.
In addition, failing to file your Colorado annual report will put your business into “delinquent” status. In order to return your status to “Good Standing,” a Statement Curing Delinquency must be filed. Your business will remain in “delinquent” status until a Statement Curing Delinquency, Articles of Dissolution, Statement of Foreign Entity Withdrawal, or other appropriate document is filed.
Who can file a Colorado Periodic Report?
After starting a business in Colorado, any authorized person may file the annual report. An authorized person is someone the Colorado business permits to act on its behalf. This could be someone within the business (such as a director or manager), or someone outside of the business that you hire to file your report. When you hire Northwest Registered Agent for periodic report service, we complete and file your Colorado Periodic Report.
Do Colorado charities need to renew every year?
Yes! Colorado charities must file a renewal on or before the 15th day of the fifth month after the close of each fiscal year in which the charity was originally formed in Colorado. This is the same date the organization’s Form 990 is due to the IRS. You can renew your charity by going to the Secretary of State, Charities Division website and logging into your account. If you don’t have an account, you will need to create one. The cost to renew is $10.
Where can I get more information about State of Colorado Periodic Report filing?
Colorado Department of State
Business and Licensing
Denver, CO 80290
T: (303) 894-2200 & Press 2
F: (303) 869-4864