How to Dissolve a Florida Corporation
What you need to dissolve a corporation in Florida:
- $35 filing fee
- Articles of Dissolution form (if filing by mail)
- Corporation document number (if filing online; number can be found by performing a records search with the corporation’s name)
How do you dissolve a Florida Corporation?
To voluntarily dissolve your domestic corporation in Florida:
- If filing by mail, submit the completed Cover Letter and Articles of Dissolution forms to the Department of State by mail or in person
- Pay the filing fee.
- The simpler way to dissolve your corporation is to file it online using the link below.
A dissolved corporation may not carry on any business except as appropriate to wind up its business affairs.
Florida Corporation Dissolution FAQ
Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel a Florida Corporation?
To dissolve your Florida Corporation the $35 filing fee is required.
Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Florida Department of State will accept your dissolution?
No, you do not need clearance before you dissolve a corporation or LLC in Florida.
How long does it take the state to process the filing?
Mailed articles of dissolution are processed in approximately one week. Online dissolutions are processed in two to four days. Walked in articles of dissolution are processed while you wait for no extra charge if you so request it.
A letter of acknowledgment will be mailed after the dissolution has been filed. You will also be able to print a copy directly from their website.
How long before someone can take your business name?
The name of the dissolved corporation will not be available for use by another entity until one year after the effective date of dissolution.
A corporation may revoke its dissolution within 120 days of its effective date. If your corporation wants to be reinstated and has been dissolved more than one year, you need to make sure the business name has not already been taken by another entity. If the corporation has been administratively dissolved, and the name is no longer available for use, the Department of State requires the dissolved FL corporation to amend its articles to change its name before accepting any application for reinstatement.
What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your annual reports?
The Florida annual report fee is $150, due on May 1st. There is a $400 late fee after May 1st, plus a $600 reinstatement fee if you decide to re-register after the third Friday in September, when Florida administratively dissolves you for nonpayment of annual fees.
Once your business status has been revoked, you may reinstate your business at any time online by filing a reinstatement through the Florida Department of State website.
Online Withdrawal Filing:
- Online withdrawal for Florida domestic corporations (use for both profit & non-profit corporations)
- Online withdrawal for Florida foreign corporations (for all foreign business entity, including LLCs)
If you’d like help establishing another company, you may find our incorporation filing service and Florida registered agent service helpful. We provide all the forms and filing instructions you may need in your online account, or you can just hire us to do the filing for you.