How to Reinstate a Vermont LLC
To revive a Vermont LLC, you’ll need to file an update annual report with the Vermont Secretary of State and pay all fees and penalties. You’ll also have to fix any other issues that led to your Vermont LLC’s termination. Below, we provide a free, step-by-step guide to reinstating your Vermont LLC.
Revive Or Reinstate A Vermont Limited Liability Company
The Vermont Secretary of State has the power to administratively dissolve or terminate your LLC if you fail to do any of the following:
- file an annual report
- appoint and maintain a Vermont registered agent
- pay any fees or penalties required by law
In order to get back into business again, you can apply for reinstatement. To revive or reinstate your Vermont LLC, you’ll need to submit the following to the Vermont Secretary of State:
- an updated annual report
- the $35 annual report filing fee for each year your LLC failed to file an annual report
- the $25 reinstatement fee for each year your LLC neglected to file an annual report
How do I file the Vermont reinstatement application?
In Vermont, there’s no reinstatement application or form you need to fill out to reinstate your terminated LLC. Instead, you simply need to fix the problem that led to dissolution in the first place—usually, it’s failure to file an annual report on time. In this case, you’ll need to file a current annual report and pay back fees to reinstate.
You’ll need to begin the Vermont reinstatement process online. Once you log into your existing account (or create a new one), click “File your Reinstatement” and the Online Business Service Center will prompt you to complete the filings required for reinstatement.
The easiest, fastest option is to file online, but if you prefer, you can print and mail your filing to the Secretary of State’s Business Services Division.
128 State Street
How much will it cost to revive a Vermont LLC?
It depends on how long your Vermont LLC has been administratively terminated. You can reinstate your LLC anytime, but back fees for missed annual reports will continue to add up.
The Vermont reinstatement fee is $25, but you’ll owe that fee for each year you failed to file an annual report. In addition, you’ll have to pay the $35 filing fee for each missed annual report (although you only have to file a current annual report).
That means that an LLC that has been terminated for five years would owe $300.
How long does it take the state to process the Vermont reinstatement?
The Vermont LLC reinstatement processing time depends on how you file. Filing online is much faster than filing by mail—most online filings are processed within one business day. If you file by mail, you’ll probably end up waiting 7-10 business days for your reinstatement to be processed.
Can you change your Vermont registered agent when you file delinquent annual reports?
No—you can’t change your Vermont registered agent on the Vermont annual report. However, you can change your registered agent by filing a Statement of Change of Registered Agent form after you reinstate your Vermont LLC.
How long do you have to revive a Vermont LLC?
You can revive a business in Vermont at anytime, but keep in mind, reinstatement fees and back fees for annual reports will continue to accrue. Plus, after five years, your Vermont LLC’s business name will become available for other businesses in Vermont to adopt.