How To Reinstate A Utah LLC
Revive Or Reinstate A Utah Limited Liability Company
Involuntary Dissolution: Domestic Limited Liability Companies, expired for less than two years, may reinstate online at the link furnished below. Or you may file the completed Application for Reinstatement with the Division of Corporations & Commercial Code. File it with the processing fee by mail, fax or in person. For fax filing include the Fax Cover Sheet found on the Commission’s Website just under the Application. If you would like a copy returned for your records, submit the application in duplicate with a prepared envelope; otherwise, the Commission will send an acknowledgement to your registered agent. If you have changed your LLC’s registered agent or business address, include the completed Registration Information Change Form with its filing fee. Utah reserved your business name for two years even though you were not authorized to do business once terminated.
Voluntary Dissolution: A Utah Limited Liability Company may revoke its dissolution within 120 days after the effective date of the dissolution by filing a completed Revocation of Dissolution (LLC). Send it along with a completed Registration Information Change Form and a copy of the Articles of Dissolution to Utah Division of Corporations & Commercial Code by mail, fax or in person.
How much will it cost to revive a Utah LLC?
The filing fee for the Application for Reinstatement is $70.00. Utah does not ask for any back fees or penalties be paid for the reinstatement, just the application fee. There is no filing fee for a Revocation of Dissolution, but the Registration Information Change Form costs $15.00.
Expedited service is available for an additional fee of $75.00.
How long does it take the state to process the filing?
Normal Processing: 5 to 7 days. Fax Processing: 5 to 7 days. In Person Processing: 5 to 7 days. Expedited Processing: 48 hours. Online Processing: 48 hours or less.
How long does your Utah LLC have to be inactive with the state before you wouldn’t have any fees, and would just have to start over with a new Utah LLC?
In Utah you can reinstate your business within two (2) years of involuntary dissolution. After 2 years, you would have to start over and file as a new entity. If you voluntarily dissolve in Utah, you have 120 days before your only option is to start over. Either process costs the same $70.00; Application for Reinstatement or Articles of Organization.
Can you change your Utah registered agent at the same time on the Utah reinstatement?
You can change your Utah registered agent at the same time as the reinstatement, but only with the additional completed Registration Information Change Form attached to your Application for Reinstatement.
Can you change your principal address at the same time on the Utah reinstatement form?
No, you have to fill out the Registration Information Change Form and include it with your reinstatement.
Can you change your members and/or managers at the same time on the Utah reinstatement form?
To change members and/or managers of a Utah LLC, you must complete the Registration Information Change Form. You may file it together with the reinstatement application.
How many annual reports can you miss before you can’t revive your Utah LLC?
You can miss a total a three annual report/renewal due dates before you cannot reinstate an LLC or corporation. Once you are delinquent, you have 30 days to pay the annual renewal fee of $20.00, plus the $10.00 penalty. If you fail to file and pay 30 days after the due date, you are classified as expired. From that date you have two years to reinstate. After that time you must start over as a new business.
Application for Reinstatement: https://secure.utah.gov/abr/abr