How to Dissolve a Colorado Corporation
How do you dissolve a Colorado Corporation?
To dissolve your corporation in Colorado, you must submit the completed Articles of Dissolution form online at the link furnished below. You enter your entity name, confirm that you are authorized to dissolve your corporation, select the Articles of Dissolution and fill in the required fields. After clicking “Submit” and furnishing the online payment information, your company’s status is instantly changed to “Dissolved.”
Colorado Corporation Dissolution FAQ
Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel a Colorado Corporation?
To dissolve a corporation or LLC in Colorado requires a $25 filing fee.
Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Colorado Department of State will accept your dissolution?
No, the Secretary of State doesn’t deal with tax issues in Colorado.
How long does it take the state to process the filing?
Articles of Dissolution must be filed online and the processing time is instant.
How long before someone can take your business name?
An entity that voluntarily dissolves in Colorado has its status changed to include the word “Dissolved.” The entity name is immediately available.
What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your annual reports?
If your periodic report is more than sixty (60) days past due, your corporation has had its status set as “Delinquent.” Once your Colorado corporation is delinquent, you will remain that way indefinitely or until you dissolve correctly or file a Statement Curing Delinquency for $100.
File Articles of Dissolution:
You can only file your Articles of Dissolution online using the Colorado SOS’ online filing portal.
If you’d like help establishing another company, you may find our incorporation filing service and Colorado registered agent service helpful. We provide all the forms and filing instructions you may need in your online account, or you can just hire us to do the filing for you.