How to Dissolve a Montana LLC
How do you dissolve/terminate a Montana Limited Liability Company?
To terminate your domestic LLC in Montana, you must provide the completed Articles of Termination for a Limited Liability Company form to the Secretary of State by mail, fax or in person, along with the filing fee.
A dissolved LLC may not carry on any business except as appropriate to wind up and liquidate its business affairs.
Montana Limited Liability Company Dissolution FAQ
What is the filing fee to dissolve or cancel a Montana LLC?
To dissolve your Montana Limited Liability Company, there is a $15 filing fee required. You may request one-day service for an additional $20 or one-hour processing for an additional $100.
Your Montana registered agent may be able to help you with the dissolution process.
Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Montana Secretary of State will accept your dissolution?
No tax clearance is required to terminate a domestic limited liability company in Montana.
How long does it take the state to process the filing?
When you dissolve your LLC or corporation, your articles of termination or dissolution will be processed in a week to ten days, unless you request expedited service, which will be processed in one hour or one day depending on the request.
If you would like a file stamped copy of the document to be returned with the certification letter, at no additional fee, submit your articles of termination in duplicate.
How long before someone can take your business name?
The day after a company is dissolved, the business name can be requested by another entity.
What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your annual reports?
The reinstatement fee for a domestic limited liability company in Montana is $35 plus back annual reports, which are $30 per year and $15 for the current year if it is filed before April 15th. You must also get a tax certificate from the Department of Revenue prior to filing your reinstatement.
The reinstatement option is only available for five years after an involuntary revocation. After that period you must form a new company.