How to Dissolve a Colorado LLC
How do you dissolve a Colorado limited liability company?
To dissolve/terminate your domestic LLC in Colorado, you must submit the completed Statement of Dissolution form to the Colorado Secretary of State online at the link found below.
Colorado Limited Liability Company Dissolution FAQ
Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel a Colorado LLC?
To dissolve your Limited Liability Company in Colorado, there is a $10 filing fee required.
Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Colorado Department of State will accept your dissolution?
No, you do not need clearance to dissolve your Colorado LLC.
How long does it take the state to process the filing?
Documents filed online are processed immediately in real time.
How long before someone can take your business name?
The day after LLC or corporation dissolution, the business name can be requested by another entity.
What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your annual reports?
If a Colorado business does not want to dissolve properly and just ignore its Periodic Report filing, the business will remain classified by the Colorado Secretary of State as “Delinquent” indefinitely. Its business name will be available for other prospective entities to take after 400 days. Other than that there is no penalty in Colorado for this course of action, except for a $100 processing fee for the Statement Curing Delinquency, if you change your mind and decide you want to return to good standing.
Colorado Secretary of State Online Forms:
Colorado SOS Business Forms List
If you’d like help establishing another company, you may find our incorporation filing service and Colorado registered agent service helpful. We provide all the forms and filing instructions you may need in your online account, or you can just hire us to do the filing for you.