How to Dissolve a Florida LLC
What you need to dissolve a Florida LLC:
- $25 filing fee
- Articles of Dissolution for a Limited Liability Company form (if filing by mail)
- LLC document filing number (if filing online; you can find this number by performing a business search for the entity)
How do you dissolve a Florida Limited Liability Company?
To voluntarily dissolve your Florida LLC, you can provide the completed Cover Letter and Articles of Dissolution for a Limited Liability Company forms to the Department of State by mail or in person, along with the filing fee. Florida also offers Online Dissolution Filing that is quick and easy. Find the link below.
A dissolved LLC may not carry on any business except as appropriate to wind up its business affairs.
Florida Limited Liability Company Dissolution FAQ
Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel a Florida LLC?
To dissolve your Limited Liability Company in Florida, there is a $25 filing fee required.
Expedited service is available the same day if requested in person by 4:30 pm, at no additional charge.
Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Florida Department of State will accept your dissolution?
How long does it take the state to process the filing?
Normal processing time in Florida is approximately one week. Online filings are processed in two to four days. Walked in documents are processed while you wait if so requested.
A letter of acknowledgment will be mailed after the dissolution has been filed. You will also be able to print a copy directly from their website.
How long before someone can take your business name?
The Florida Department of State will protect a dissolved business name for one year from the date of your LLC or corporation dissolution.
An LLC may revoke its dissolution within 120 days of its effective date. If your LLC has been dissolved more than one year, you will need to check that the business name has not already been taken by another entity. If the LLC has been administratively dissolved, and the name is no longer available for use, the Department of State requires the dissolved LLC to amend its articles to change its name before accepting any application for reinstatement.
What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your annual reports?
The annual report fee is $138.75. There will be a $400 late fee after May 1st plus a $100 reinstatement fee after the third Friday of September, at which time Florida will administratively dissolve you for nonpayment of annual fees.
Once your business status has been revoked, you may reinstate your business at any time by filing a reinstatement through the Florida Department of State website.
Online Withdrawal Filing:
Online Domestic Florida LLC Withdrawal
If you’d like help establishing another company, you may find our incorporation filing service and Florida registered agent service helpful. We provide all the forms and filing instructions you may need in your online account, or you can just hire us to do the filing for you.