How to Dissolve a Georgia LLC
By: Drake Forester | Published October 30, 2014
To end a Georgia LLC, just file form CD-415, Certificate of Termination, with the Georgia Secretary of State, Corporations Division (SOS). The certificate of termination is available on the Georgia SOS website or your Northwest Registered Agent online account. You are not required to use SOS forms. You may draft your own certificate of termination.
How do you dissolve a Georgia Limited Liability Company?
The Georgia SOS does not require original signatures. The LLC must be in active standing with the SOS in order to terminate. If you need to pay for expedited processing, the Georgia SOS accepts check, certified bank check, or money order. Make checks payable to “Secretary of State.” The SOS does not accept cash.
Georgia Secretary of State
2 MLK Jr. Dr. S.E.
Suite 315, Floyd West Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
Phone: (404) 656-2817
Fax: (404) 657-2248
Georgia Limited Liability Company Dissolution FAQ
Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel a Georgia LLC?
There is no fee to file the Certificate of Termination for a Georgia LLC.
There is a $100 fee for 24 hour expedited processing.
Your Georgia registered agent may be able to help you with the dissolution process.
Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Georgia Secretary of State will accept your termination?
You don’t need to get a tax clearance certificate from the Department of Revenue to dissolve a business. But you do need to file a final tax return. Call the Georgia Department of Revenue at (877) 423-6711 for tax related information.
How long does it take the state to process the filing?
It takes the Georgia SOS between seven and ten business days to process the LLC certificate of termination.
The SOS offers 24 hour expedited processing for an additional fee.
How long before someone can take your business name?
There is no name protection for a Georgia LLC that terminates voluntarily. The name can be used by others as soon as the LLC is terminated.
The LLCs name is protected for 5 years after it has been administratively dissolved by the Georgia SOS.
What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your annual reports?
If a Georgia LLC does not file its annual registration, the Georgia SOS will mail a notice, by first-class mail, to the LLCs principal office or registered agent. If the limited liability company does not file the annual registration within 60 days after the notice, the Secretary of State shall administratively dissolve the LLC.
If a Georgia LLC does file the annual registration, but is late, the LLC will have to pay the $50 filing fee plus a late filing penalty of $25.
What are the late fees and penalties to reinstate if your LLC is forfeited?
Georgia LLCs may reinstate within five years following administrative dissolution. There is a $250 flat fee to file the application.