How to Dissolve a Vermont LLC
How do you dissolve a Vermont Limited Liability Company?
When you dissolve a Vermont LLC, you must file a Limited Liability Company – Termination form with the Vermont Secretary of State, Corporations Division (SOS). You are not required to use the forms provided by the Vermont SOS. You can draft your own articles of termination. You will need to file the signed original form and a copy. Since Vermont requires original signatures, you can mail or drop off your form, but you cannot file by fax or online. Include a self addressed envelope when you submit the termination documents so the Vermont SOS can return a filing acknowledgment .
The Vermont SOS does not accept credit cards or cash, so include a check payable to the Vermont Secretary of State.
Submit your termination documents to:
Office of the Secretary of State
128 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05609-1104
Phone: (802) 828-2386
Vermont Limited Liability Company Dissolution FAQ
Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel a Vermont LLC?
There is a $20 filing fee to terminate your Vermont Limited Liability Company.
Do you need a Department of Taxes clearance before the Vermont Secretary of State will accept your dissolution?
No, you are not required to get a clearance from the Vermont Department of Taxes before you can dissolve your Vermont LLC.
How long does it take the state to process the filing?
It usually takes the Vermont SOS 3-5 business days to process documents to dissolve an LLC or corporation. The processing time is the same for mailed and walked-in documents.
The Vermont SOS is really busy from January to April each year so processing could take longer during that time.
How long before someone can take your business name?
Your Vermont LLCs name becomes available for use by others once the termination is filed.
The names of administratively terminated Vermont LLCs are protected for five years following termination.
What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your annual reports?
Vermont LLCs are required to file an annual report at the end of each fiscal year (as stated in the LLCs Articles of Organization). After the end of the fiscal year, you have 2 ½ months to file the annual report with the Vermont SOS. If your fiscal year ends in December, then you would file the report between January 1 and March 15. If your Vermont LLC does not file the annual report and pay the fee on time, you will be notified that your LLC has been involuntarily terminated by the Vermont SOS.
What are the late fees and penalties to re-register if your registration is forfeited?
If you reinstate your involuntarily terminated Vermont LLC, you will have to pay the $25 annual report fee plus a $25 reinstatement fee for each report you missed. The total fees will depend on how many reports you missed. If you reinstate right away, you just have to file the one annual report and pay $50 in fees.
Vermont Secretary of State – Forms:
Vermont SOS Corporations Division Forms List
If you’d like help establishing another company, you may find our incorporation filing service and Vermont registered agent service helpful. We provide all the forms and filing instructions you may need in your online account, or you can just hire us to do the filing for you.