Processing. Please Wait.

Northwest Registered Agent, LLC
Get Started
Get Started

Create a Free Account

Our free account and tools will help you get started and maintain your business. All for free. Enter your information below to create your free account.

  • Minimum 8 characters long
  • At least 1 capital and lowercase letter
  • At least 1 number
  • At least 1 special character

Free Download


Choose to view the in another tab or to download the PDF.

Maryland Personal Property Return Report

We’re Just Not Annoying®

Maryland Annual Report Filing Instructions

What is the cost to file the Maryland annual report/personal property return?

MD Corporations, PCs, LLCs, PLLCs, LPs, LLPs-domestic and foreign: $300

MD nonstock corporation (nonprofit)-domestic and foreign: $0

MD Charity: The annual update fee is based on the level of revenue. The cost is $0 for less than $25,000, to $200 for $100,001 and above.

(Note that credit card payments require a 3% convenience fee.)

How to file your Maryland State Department of Assessments and Taxation annual report:

Maryland has a long form that all businesses must file annually. It is the Annual Personal Property Return. You complete it and mail it to the Maryland State Department of Assessments and Taxation, with the filing fee. They have no online filing option. The form is like a tax return, but it is not too bad if you don’t have property in Maryland. Otherwise, good luck.

Maryland charities are required to register with the Secretary of State and file an Annual Update of Registration, with the update fee. See the link provided below.

When is the Maryland Annual Report Due?

Maryland annual personal property returns are filed with the SDAT by April 15 each year. You just need to have it post marked by the due date.

Charities file their annual update with the Maryland Secretary of State six months after their fiscal year end, typically June 1st.

Late fees?

The late penalty in Maryland is a percentage of your county assessment plus interest. If you file past the due date, SDAT will mail you a bill for the penalty. However, businesses with no property in Maryland don’t have a late fee, just risk being forfeited.

How do I get notified?

Maryland SDAT mails the reports in February, but you can also download it from their website.

Who can file Maryland annual reports?

Anyone with authority can prepare the report but it needs to be signed by an officer or principal.

Are original signatures needed?



Maryland corporations
Maryland LLCs
Maryland nonprofits
Start a business in Maryland
Registered agent service in Maryland

State of Maryland Department of Assessments & Taxation
Personal Property Division
P.O. Box 17052
Baltimore, MD 21297-1052
Phone: 410-767-1170
Email: persprop@dat.state.md.us

Office of Secretary of State
State House
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: (410) 974-5534
Email: TOwens@sos.state.md.us

Corporate Compliance
by Local Corporate Guides®