How To Resign As A Registered Agent In Louisiana
To resign as a registered agent in Louisiana, you must submit an original and two copies of a statement of resignation of registered agent to the Louisiana Secretary of State, Commercial Division by mail, fax or in-person. After filing with the Secretary of State, mail one copy of the statement of resignation to the company’s registered office, if not discontinued, and another copy to principal office.
The notice may also include a statement that the registered office is discontinued. There is no official form for the resignation of a Louisiana registered agent. The Secretary of State may charge a $25 fee for processing. Standard processing time for the resignation of a Louisiana registered agent is 3-5 business days. Filings may be expedited for additional fees: $30 for 24-hour turnaround, $50 for same-day.
Free PDF Download
Download a sample Louisiana Resignation of Registered Agent Form here
Do It Yourself Online
Sign up for a free account and fill out the Louisiana Registered Agent Resignation here
Let Us Complete The Registered Agent Resignation For You$100 + State Fees
The Steps To Resign As A Louisiana Registered Agent:
- To resign, the Louisiana registered agent must submit an original and two copies of a statement of resignation to the Louisiana Secretary of State by mail, fax or in-person.
- Then, the agent must mail a copy of their resignation to the company’s registered office, if not discontinued, and another copy to the principal office.
The Louisiana registered agent’s resignation becomes effective on the 31st day after the statement of resignation is filed with the Louisiana Secretary of State.
If the entity is not dissolving you’ll also need to change your Louisiana registered agent to appoint your new agent. Need a new agent? Check out our registered agent service.
Items To Include On The Louisiana Resignation Of Registered Agent
The following items must be on the Louisiana registered agent’s statement of resignation:
- Entity name
- Date of filing
- Name of registered agent
- Street address of registered agent
- A statement that the agent resigns
- Signature of registered agent
Louisiana Registered Agent Resignation FAQ
Must The Registered Agent Notify The Company Before Filing Resignation With Louisiana?
No. The Louisiana registered agent must submit their statement of resignation (and two copies) to the Secretary of State before mailing one copy of the statement to the company’s registered office and another to principal office.
Is There A Fee To Resign As A Registered Agent In Louisiana?
Yes. According to the Louisiana statutes, the Louisiana Secretary of State can charge a fee of $25 for the resignation of a registered agent. However, there is no listing of a fee for the resignation of a registered agent on the Louisiana Secretary of State website. The Louisiana Secretary of State accepts payment via check, money order, cash (in-person only) and credit card (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, American Express). Credit card payments are subject to an additional $5 convenience fee. Make checks payable to “Louisiana Secretary of State”.
Can The Louisiana Registered Agent File Their Resignation Online?
No. The Louisiana registered agent resignation can only be submitted by mail, fax or in-person. To submit the filing by fax, include a cover sheet listing the name, number and address of the contact person as well as whether or not expedited handling is requested.
How Long Does It Take The State To Process A Registered Agent Resignation In Louisiana?
Standard processing time for the resignation of a Louisiana registered agent is 3-5 business days. Service may be expedited to 24-hour processing for $30, and walked-in filings can be processed while-you-wait for $50.
When Does A Registered Agent’s Resignation Become Effective In Louisiana?
The Louisiana registered agent’s resignation becomes effective on the 31st day after the statement of resignation is filed with the Secretary of State.
What If The Louisiana Registered Agent Resigns While The Company Is Still Active?
Corporations and LLCs are required by Louisiana state law to maintain a registered agent during the life of the company. If a Louisiana company is without a registered agent for sixty days or more, the company can be administratively dissolved. To change registered agents, the entity must file a Statement of Change of Registered Agent and/or Registered Office Address with the Louisiana Secretary of State and include $25 for processing.
What’s The Simplest Way To Resign As A Registered Agent In Louisiana?
Start a FREE Northwest Registered Agent Account to access the forms or hire us to complete it for you. At Northwest Registered Agent, we offer a variety of services to lighten the load on your business and all filings are processed the same day you order.
Which Louisiana Agency Does The Registered Agent Send Their Resignation To?
Submit the Louisiana registered agent’s statement of resignation by mail, fax or in-person to:
Louisiana Secretary of State
PO Box 94125
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125
Louisiana Secretary of State
8585 Archives Ave
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
For inquiries call: