Create a Free Account

Virginia Annual Report Service & Filing Instructions

When You Want More

The state of Virginia requires all corporations, nonprofits, LLCs, and LPs to file a Virginia Annual Report and/or pay an annual registration fee – depending on what type of business you own. These reports and fees must be submitted to the Virginia State Corporation Commission. Below, you will find an easy-to-read guide for how to file the Virginia Annual Report yourself. We include filing fees, due dates, required information, and frequently asked questions.

Need to file in another state? Visit our State-by-State Annual Report Guide.

How to File Your Virginia Annual Report

Complete the following steps to file your Virginia Annual Report:

  1. Find your due date and filing fee.
  2. Complete your report online OR request a paper form.
  3. File your report with the Virginia State Corporation Commission.


Virginia Annual Report Due Dates and Fees

Virginia corporations and nonprofits are the only business entities that are required to file an annual report AND pay the annual registration fee. LLCs and LPs are only required to pay the annual registration fee.

There is no fee associated with the annual report. The chart below breaks down the Annual Registration Fee and filing due dates for each business type.

Virginia Registration Fee Schedule

Business Type


Due Date

How to File

Corporations – foreign and domestic


End of Anniversary Month

Online or Paper Form

LLCs – foreign and domestic


End of Anniversary Month


Nonprofits, Cooperatives, and Religious Corporations


End of Anniversary Month

Online or Paper Form

LPs – foreign and domestic


End of Anniversary Month


*The annual registration fee for corporations is based on the total number of authorized shares.

Late Fees: Virginia will charge all corporations 10% of their total annual registration due OR $10 – whichever is greater. Nonprofits will be charged $10. LLCs and LPs will be assessed a $25 penalty. In addition, your business will no longer be in good standing.

Don’t remember when you formed your business? You can easily find your anniversary month by searching the Virginia Business Database.

How do I calculate my Virginia Annual Registration fee?

The registration fee for Virginia corporations is based on the total number of shares the business is authorized to issue. Here is a quick breakdown:

Authorized Shares

Total Fee

1 – 5,000 $100
5,001 – 10,000 $130
10,001 – 15,000 $160
15,001 – 20,000 $190
20,001 – 25,000 $220
25,001 – 30,000 $250
30,001 – 35,000 $280
35,001 – 40,000 $310
40,001 – 45,000 $340
45,001 – 50,000 $370
50,001 – 55,000 $400

The maximum registration fee is $1,700 (over 270,000 shares).

Filing Your Virginia Annual Report

The Virginia Annual Report can be submitted online OR by mail. Either way, you’ll need to the visit the Commonwealth of Virginia website.

To File Online:

  • Go to the Online File login page.
  • Enter your username and password. If you don’t have an account, you’ll need to create one by clicking “Register.”

To File by Mail:

  • The state of Virginia will send your registered agent a form prior to your due date. You can also request a form online OR by calling the Clerk’s office at (804) 371-9377.

Here’s a list of information you’ll need to include, verify, and/or update on your Virginia Annual Report:

  • Business name.
  • Principal address.
  • State or country you initially formed in.
  • Registered agent name and address.
  • Director/officer names and addresses.
  • Total number of authorized shares – this will be used to determine your registration fee.
  • Signature and title of person filing the report. This must include at least one current director or officer.

Online filings must be paid with a credit card. If you choose to mail your report, you’ll need to include a check or money order.

LLCs and LLPs still need to log in to the website to pay their annual registration fee, but they don’t need to verify or update this information.

Hire Northwest Registered Agent to file your Virginia Annual Report. We’ll make sure everything gets done accurately and on time, so you don’t have to!

Get Virginia Annual Report Service Today!

Arrow GraphicGET STARTED Arrow Graphic
Registered Agent Building Graphic

How Our Virginia Annual Report Service Works

For $100 plus the state-mandated annual registration fee, we’ll file your annual report.

  • You can sign up for this service by itself or add it to an existing service inside your client account. Compliance service is also automatically added when you hire us to provide your registered agent service or form your Virginia corporation or Virginia nonprofit.
  • Once you’re signed up for business renewal service, you’ll pay nothing up front. We’ll send you a reminder 90 days before your filing due date and auto-charge your preferred payment method five days later.

Annual Report Service Benefits

At Northwest Registered Agent, we’re committed to protecting our clients’ privacy. Virginia Annual Reports are public record, so we’ve designed our annual report service to protect your privacy. Here’s how:

  1. In order to preserve your privacy, we will list OUR contact information instead of yours on the report form.
  2. Only the minimum required information will be included.
  3. We will list our IP address – limiting the connection between your cell phone, personal computer, and work computers – this makes it harder for advertisers to follow you.
  4. We will list our bank and credit card information – not yours.

We believe everyone has the right to keep their information private. That’s why privacy is our guiding principle when we create every service and product.

Virginia Annual Report FAQ

Does Virginia require new businesses to file an initial report?

No, new corporations in Virginia are not required to file initial reports.

Are there consequences for failing to file a Virginia Annual Report?

Yes! Corporations will be charged 10% of their total amount due OR $10 – whichever is greater. Nonprofits will be charged $10. LLCs and LPs will be charged a $25 penalty fee. Also, your business will no longer be in good standing with the state. This could result in being administratively dissolved or revoked.

Do Virginia LLCs need to file an annual report?

No, Virginia LLCs don’t have to file annual reports; however, they do need to pay a $50 Annual Registration Fee.

How long does Virginia Annual Report processing take?

Your Virginia Annual Report will be processed immediately upon receipt.

Who can file a Virginia Annual Report?

After starting a business in Virginia, your annual report can be filed by anyone authorized to do so. This can be someone within the business (such as a director) or someone outside the company who is hired to file on your behalf. When you hire Northwest Registered Agent for business renewal service, we’ll submit your Virginia Annual Report for you!

Do Virginia Annual Reports need original signatures?

No, Virginia Annual Reports can be filed with electronic signatures.

Where can I get more information about State of the Virginia Annual Report filing?

Physical Address:
Virginia State Corporation Commission
Tyler Building
1300 E. Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219
T: (804) 371-9733 OR (866) 722-2511
Email: [email protected]

Mailing Address:
State Corporation Commission
PO Box 1197
Richmond, VA 23218


Hire Us To File Your Virginia Annual Report

When You Want More