Facebook
Arrow Graphic

COVID-19 Update:

As an essential business, we’re open, fully operational, and all services are active and available!

Processing. Please Wait.

Northwest Registered Agent, LLC
Menu Menu
Start Here
Back

Create a Free Account

Our free account and tools will help you get started and maintain your business. All for free. Enter your information below to create your free account.

  • Minimum 8 characters long
  • At least 1 capital and lowercase letter
  • At least 1 number
  • At least 1 special character

Free Download

Template

Choose to view the in another tab or to download the PDF.

California Statement of Information Service and Filing Instructions

Do Business the Right Way

According to California state law, all California corporations, nonprofits, and LLCs must file a California Statement of Information – also called an annual report. These statements must be filed with the California Secretary of State each year OR every other year – depending on what type of business you own. On this page, you will find instructions for how to file the California Statement of Information yourself. We also include due dates, filing fees, and answers to common questions.

Need to file in another state? Visit our Annual Report Filing Guide.

How to File Your California Statement of Information

Filing your California Statement of Information requires the following steps:

  1. Figure out when your statement of information is due and what you owe.
  2. Download a paper form OR complete the statement online.
  3. File your statement of information online, by mail, or in person.

Below, we created an easy-to-follow guide to help you file your California Statement of Information.

California Statement of Information – Due Dates and Fees

Your filing due date will be the last day of your anniversary month. Don’t remember when you initially formed your business? You can easily find it by searching the California business database.

The following chart clearly outlines the California Statement of Information due dates and fees. Please note that California corporations (foreign and domestic) must file every year, while California LLCs and nonprofits are required to file every two years.

California Statement of Information Fee Schedule

Business Type

Cost

Due Date

How to File

Corporations (foreign and domestic) – every year

$25

Last day of anniversary month

Online or Paper Form

LLCs (foreign and domestic) – every two years

$20

Last day of anniversary month

Online or Paper Form

Nonprofits, Cooperatives, and Religious Corporations – every two years

$20

Last day of anniversary month

Online or Paper Form

Late Fees: If you fail to file your California Statement of Information, you will have a 60-day grace period before you are charged an additional $250. If you continue to be delinquent, your business may be administratively dissolved.

Filing Your California Statement of Information

Your California Statement of Information can be filed online, in person, or by mail. To obtain a paper form or submit online, you’ll need to visit the California Secretary of State website.

  • On the state website, click the “business” tab on the top menu.
  • To file an LLC statement of information, click “LLC Statements of Information File Online.” To file for a corporation or nonprofit, select “Corporation Statements of Information File Online.” To file in-person or by mail, click “Forms, Samples and Fees for Business Entities.”

To file online:

  • Enter your LLC or corporation’s name in the search box. Then, click “search.”
  • LLCs: Click on your business’s name. Then, click “Continue Filing.” This will immediately begin the online filing process.
  • Corporations: After selecting your business from the search results, click the box confirming you selected the correct entity and have the authority to file. Then, click the “File a Statement Information” link under the heading “Available Filings.”

To file by mail or in person:

  • Click the + sign next to your business type and find the appropriate California Statement of Information form.
  • When you click the name of the form, it will automatically appear on your screen. All paper forms must be completed with black ink.

Here’s a list of everything you’ll need to provide on the statement of information:

  • The business’s name.
  • Your 7-12 digit filing number assigned by the Secretary of State. You can find your number by doing a business entity search. It will be listed under the column labeled “Entity Number” in your search results.
  • The business’s address (mailing and street). Foreign LLCs must provide the state or county it was initially formed in.
  • Officers or members/managers: include full legal names and addresses.
  • Director’s name and address (profit corporations only).
  • Agent for service of process: include your agent’s full name and address. If you need to update/change this information, you may do so on the statement of information. There is no additional filing fee.
  • A brief statement of your business’s purpose (profit corporations and LLCs only).
  • Signature, title, and printed name of the person filing.

Online submissions must be paid with a credit card. If filing in-person or by mail, you must include a check or money order payable to “Secretary of State.”

Stop worrying about penalties, potential late fees, or forgetting to file! Hire Northwest Registered Agent to complete and file your California Statement of Information for you. We’ll make sure everything gets done accurately and on time.

Get California Statement of Information Service Today!

Arrow GraphicGET STARTEDArrow Graphic
Registered Agent Building Graphic

How Our California Statement of Information Service Works

For $100 plus the state-mandated report fee, we’ll file your statement of information. For most domestic corporations, that’s $125 total.

  • You can sign up for this service by itself or add it on to an existing service inside your client account. Compliance service is also automatically added when you hire us to provide your registered agent service or form your California LLC, California corporation or California nonprofit.

  • Once you’ve signed up for compliance service, you’ll pay nothing up front. We’ll send you a reminder 90 days before your filing due date and auto-charge your preferred method five days later.

Statement of Information Service Benefits

At Northwest Registered Agent, we’re committed to protecting our clients’ privacy. California Statements of Information are public record, so we’ve designed our statement of information service to protect your privacy. Here’s how:

  1. In order to preserve your privacy, we will list OUR contact information instead of yours on the statement.

  2. Only the minimum required information will be included.

  3. We will list our IP address – limiting the connection between your cell phone, personal computer, and work computers – this makes it harder for advertisers to follow you.

  4. We will list our bank and credit card information – not yours.

We believe everyone has the right to keep their information private. That’s why privacy is our guiding principle when we create every service and product.

California Statement of Information FAQ

Does California require initial statements of information?

They sure do! Your first California Statement of Information must be filed 90 days after formation.

When you hire Northwest Registered Agent to form your business entity, we will file your initial Statement of Information for you!

When is the California Statement of Information due?

Your filing due date will be the last day of your anniversary month. So, if you formed your business on June 14, then your filing date will be June 30 each year OR June 30 every other year – depending on what type of entity you own.

How often am I supposed to file a California Statement of Information?

California corporations must file a California Statement of Information every year. California LLCs and nonprofits will file every two years.

Are there consequences for not filing my California Statement of Information?

The state of California will give you a 60-day grace period before charging you a $250 late fee. If you continue to be delinquent, your business may be administratively dissolved.

How long does it take to process a California Statement of Information?

Online filings are typically processed within 2-3 business days. In-person or mailed submissions take a bit longer – 1 to 2 weeks.

Who can file a California Statement of Information?

Anyone authorized to sign your California Statement of Information may file on behalf of your California business. This can be a member/manager, officer/director, secretary, treasurer, or someone you employ (such as an attorney) to file on your business’s behalf. Or, you can hire Northwest Registered Agent to complete and file your California Statement of Information for you!

Does a California Statement of Information require original signatures?

Nope, you can provide copies of original documents and signatures.

Where can I get more information about the State of California Statement of Information filing?

California Secretary of State – Business Entities
1500 11th Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
T: (916) 657-5448


Hire Us To File Your California Statement of Information

Do Business The Right Way