How To Reinstate An Arkansas Corporation
Reinstate Or Revive An Arkansas Corporation:
If your corporation was administratively revoked by the Arkansas Secretary of State, Business and Commercial Services (BCS) you can reinstate any time after the charter was revoked. There is no form to file, you just have to submit your delinquent reports and pay all your taxes and penalties. You can pay your franchise tax online at the BCS website. You must also submit a certificate from the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) stating that all taxes owed by the corporation have been paid.
Arkansas Secretary of State Business and Commercial Services
Mailing address: State Capitol Little Rock, AR 72201-1094
Physical address: Victory Building 1401 West Capital Ave., Ste. 250 Little Rock, AR 72201
How do you get an Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration tax clearance?
To get a tax clearance certificate for reinstatement, you need an Authorization for Release of Tax Information form from the Department of Finance and Administration. This form is basically a request to have the DFA release your tax information to the BCS. Call the DFA at (501) 682-7200 or visit the DFA website (see link below) to request or print your authorization form.
Once you have the form, fill it out and submit it to the DFA. They will need an original signature. There are two options for submitting your form.
- Just mail the signed form and DFA will process it upon receipt.
- The second option is to fax the form and mail it. If you choose this option, the DFA will start working to verify your tax status immediately when they receive the fax. You have to mail in a signed form at the same time because they won’t actually release your tax status to BCS until they receive that signature. This is great option when you are in a hurry.
The DFA will then issue a certificate of tax standing directly to BCS when they receive the signed form.
Department of Finance and Administration contact info:
Excise Tax Administration Room 2420, Ledbetter Building PO Box 8054 Little Rock, AR 72203-8054
Phone: (501) 682-7200 Fax: (501) 682-7900
How much will it cost to revive an Arkansas Corporation?
There is no fee for the tax clearance certificate.
Since there is no form to file, you will just have to pay all of your past due fees and penalties. If you do not file your franchise tax report and fees, there is a $25 penalty fee. The secretary of state will charge 10% interest per year on the tax and penalty from the due date until it is paid. The total tax, penalty, and interest for any one year will not be more than twice the tax owed by the corporation.
How long does it take the state to process the filing?
Arkansas processes your documents within two business days. Walked in documents are processed while you wait.
After they receive your authorization for release form, it usually takes the DFA about 48 hours to release a determination of your tax status to the BCS.
How long does your Arkansas Corporation have to be inactive with the state before you wouldn’t have any fees, and would just have to start over with a new Arkansas Corporation?
You can reinstate your Arkansas corporation at any time following administrative dissolution/revocation.
Arkansas BCS won’t let you just abandon an administratively dissolved corporation and start over with a new one. Corporations that owe past due franchise taxes within the last 3 years are not allowed to file any forms or documents related to the corporation with the BCS. Also, the officers of a corporation that owes franchise taxes may not file with the BCS to create a new business entity in Arkansas. This means that the corporations past and present officers or directors can’t just start a new business entity or get authority for a foreign entity, unless you settle the taxes and fees from the last three years.
Can you change your Arkansas registered agent and other information when you apply to reinstate your Arkansas Corporation?
There is no application form to reinstate an LLC or corporation in Arkansas. You just submit your delinquent reports and fees. Check out our page for information on how to change Arkansas registered agents.
How many annual reports can you miss before you can’t revive your Arkansas Corporation?
You can reinstate your Arkansas corporation within any time after the effective date of the administrative dissolution.