How to Dissolve an Arizona LLC
How do you dissolve an Arizona Limited Liability Company?
To dissolve your LLC in Arizona, you submit the completed Form LL: 0020 Articles of Termination to the Arizona Corporation Commission (ACC) by mail, fax, or in person. Arizona has a cover sheet that should be included with filings. The Articles of Termination and coversheet are available online (see link below).
The termination forms can be filed by delivering them to:
Arizona Corporation Commission
Corporations Division – Corporate Filings Section
1300 W. Washington St.
Phoenix, Arizona 85007-2929
If you do not specify a person to pick up the documents, they will be mailed to you.
Arizona Limited Liability Company Dissolution FAQ
Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel an Arizona LLC?
To file the Articles of termination, there is a $35 filing fee required.
There is an additional $35 fee if you choose expedited filing.
Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Arizona Secretary of State will accept your dissolution?
No, you don’t need tax clearance to dissolve an Arizona LLC. You only need the Tax Clearance Certificate to dissolve an Arizona corporation or withdraw a foreign entity.
How long does it take the state to process the filing?
Normal processing to dissolve your LLC or corporation takes the ACC 20 days. Expedited processing takes 2-3 days.
How long before someone can take your business name?
If your Arizona LLC dissolves voluntarily, its name will be released and may be used by another entity immediately.
What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your annual reports?
Arizona LLCs are not required to file annual reports, but could still be found delinquent and administratively dissolved for other reasons, such as failure to pay fees, notify the commission of address changes, make publication, or maintain an Arizona statutory agent.
What are the late fees and penalties to re-register if your registration is terminated?
If your LLC is involuntarily dissolved, you may apply for reinstatement within six years. The LCC must pay a $100 reinstatement fee as well as any delinquent fees, fines, etc. If the LCC does not apply for reinstatement within six months of dissolution, the ACC releases the business’s name for use by others.