Facebook
Arrow Graphic

COVID-19 Update:

As an essential business, we’re open, fully operational, and all services are active and available!

Processing. Please Wait.

Northwest Registered Agent, LLC Menu Menu
Start Here
Back

Create a Free Account

Our free account and tools will help you get started and maintain your business. All for free. Enter your information below to create your free account.

  • Minimum 8 characters long
  • At least 1 capital and lowercase letter
  • At least 1 number
  • At least 1 special character

Free Download

Template

Choose to view the in another tab or to download the PDF.

How to Dissolve a Utah LLC

 

How do you dissolve a Utah Limited Liability Company?

You can dissolve a Domestic Limited Liability Company in Utah by completing the Articles of Dissolution of Limited Liability Company form and delivering it to the Division of Corporations & Commercial Code by mail, fax or in person. If faxing the articles, include the Fax Cover Letter. As with all documents filed with the Division, if you want a processed copy of the articles of dissolution, submit the form in duplicate with a prepared return envelope.

Utah Limited Liability Company Dissolution FAQ

Is there a filing fee to dissolve or cancel a Utah LLC?

There is no filing fee to file the Articles of Dissolution of Limited Liability Company form in Utah. You may request expedited service for $75.

Do you need a Department of Revenue clearance before the Utah Department of State will accept your dissolution?

No.

How long does it take the state to process the filing?

Normal Processing:  5 to 7 days. Fax Processing:  5 to 7 days. In Person Processing:  5 to 7 days. Expedited Service:  48 hours max.

How long before someone can take your business name?

Utah will protect your business name for 120 days after you dissolve your LLC or corporation. If a domestic LLC is administratively dissolved for failure to file annual report/renewal, the business name is reserved for two (2) years.

What is the penalty if you do not dissolve properly and just don’t file your annual reports?

The Application for Reinstatement has a $70 filing fee and that is the only fee if a domestic business is still eligible for reinstatement. You don’t even have to pay back annual report fees and penalties in Utah.

What are the late fees and penalties to re-register if your registration is terminated?

An entity that fails to file and pay an annual report/renewal by its due date, which is the anniversary date of its organization in Utah, is subject to a penalty of $10. A Utah LLC is terminated by the Division of Corporations when the annual report/renewal is delinquent two years. Then you have two more years to reinstate before you must start over with new articles of organization. Here is a link to Utah’s Corporate Annual Report/Renewal form. http://corporations.utah.gov/onlinechangeforms.html

The Utah Division of Corporations & Commercial Code will mail a notice of delinquency to your registered agent informing you that you will be dissolved on your next registration anniversary if the late report and renewal fee and penalties are not filed and paid. When that happens, you have two years to file an application for reinstatement of your domestic Limited Liability Company in Utah. After the second year you will need to start over with new articles of organization. If Northwest is your agent in Utah, we will scan, upload to your account and notify you by email immediately to log on and view your mail from Utah.

If you’d like help establishing another company, you may find our incorporation filing service and Utah registered agent service helpful.  We provide all the forms and filing instructions you may need in your online account, or you can just hire us to do the filing for you.

Do Business The Right Way