Louisiana Application for Registration of Foreign Louisiana LLCWe’re Just Not Annoying®
FOREIGN LOUISIANA LLC CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY
What does it cost to register a foreign LLC in Louisiana?
$150 for normal processing. $30 additional for 24 hour expedited processing. $50 additional for same day expedited processing. $1 additional fee for return fax.
How long does it take for the state to process the Louisiana Application for Registration?
Online Processing: same business day, as long as the registered agent accepts appointment right away.
Normal Processing: 4-5 business days, plus additional time for mailing.
In Person Processing: 4-5 business days, plus additional time for mailing unless picking it up.
Expedited Processing: 24 business hours or same day processing available, plus additional time for mailing.
How will I get verification of registration back from Louisiana?
You will receive a verification certificate by fax, if faxing in your request and paying the additional fee for return fax; by mail, if no preference or upon request; or in person, if you would like to pick it up.
What forms do I file with Louisiana to register my out of state LLC?
The Application for Authority to Transact Business in Louisiana form, the Transmittal Information form, a Certificate of Existence or Good Standing, and the filing fee is required.
What do I need from my home state?
A Certificate of Existence or Good Standing.
Does it need to be an original copy?
How current does the certificate need to be?
Must be current within the last 90 days.
Will I need an Louisiana registered agent for my LLC?
Yes, when you hire Northwest as your registered agent service, it’s a flat rate yearly price of $125 a year, you’ll have an online account that tracks your report due dates, which states you are registered in, when your yearly service with us is up, and any documents we receive locally for you are uploaded into your account immediately for complete viewing. If or when you get served with a lawsuit, we can email up to 4 people and your attorney at the same time for real time complete viewing of a lawsuit. You’ll receive annual report reminders. It’s the same price every year, and there are no weird fees or cancellation fees.
You’ll also see all the pre-populated forms and specific filing instructions on the thank you page, in your online account, and they will be emailed to you immediately upon signing up for 1 year of registered agent service.
Does the Louisiana registered agent need to sign the filing?
Yes and the signature must be notarized.
How can I file the Louisiana Application for Registration?
By mail, fax or in person. You also have the option of filing a New Business Registration online via the state’s geauxBIZ portal.
What is the state agency that accepts the out of state registration?
Louisiana Secretary of State
PO Box 94125
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9125
8585 Archives Ave.
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Do the signatures on the Louisiana LLC application need to be original?
Who has to sign the foreign LLC filing?
A member or manager must sign the form and it must be notarized.
Are there any weird things about registering in Louisiana?
If the corporation includes in its name the words “engineer”, “engineering”, “surveyor”, or “surveying”, you will want to contact the Louisiana Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board prior to submitting the application for authority.
County filing or publication is not necessary, unless specifically required by the county in which your registered agent resides.
Are there ongoing Louisiana annual report and/or initial reporting requirements?
Louisiana annual reports are due on the anniversary of the filing date, on the exact day.
What about Louisiana Taxes?
How do I withdraw my business from Louisiana?
If you would like to withdraw a business from Louisiana, you can file an Application to Withdraw.
What are your fees?
You’ll need to have a Louisiana registered agent. We charge $125 a year to act as your registered agent in Louisiana. It’s a flat rate, once a year fee, and includes more than other registered agents.
We charge a $100 one-time filing service fee if you would like us to obtain the certificates needed from your home state, and register your company in any state you choose. We have offices in every state and can act as your registered agent and make your filings for you in any state. If you would like to register with multiple states at once, we can usually drop our filing service fee down.