Register a Foreign LLC in Virginia
To register a foreign LLC in Virginia, you must file a Virginia Application for a Certificate of Registration with the Virginia State Corporation Commission. You can submit this document by mail or in person. The Application for a Certificate of Registration costs $100 to file. The following guide on registering a foreign LLC in Virginia answers the most common questions about how to file the Virginia Application for a Certificate of Registration, but you can also sign up for our Virginia Foreign LLC service and let Northwest handle the details for you.
Free PDF Download
Download the Virginia Application for a Certificate of Registration. Fill out the form and submit it to the state.
Do It Yourself Online
Our free account and tools will walk you through registering your Foreign LLC in Virginia. All for free.
Foreign Virginia LLC$325 Total
Foreign Virginia LLC Application for a Certificate of Registration
What does it cost to register a foreign LLC in Virginia?
$100. Expedited filings are an additional $100.
How long does it take for the state to process the Virginia Application for Registration?
Normal Processing: 28 business days, plus additional time for mailing
In Person Processing: 28 business days
Expedited Processing: approximately 3 days
How will I get verification of registration back from Virginia?
You will receive a certificate by mail.
What forms do I file with Virginia to register my out of state LLC?
The Application for a Certificate of Registration form, a certified copy of the LLC’s Articles, as amended, and the filing fee is required.
What do I need from my home state?
A certified copy of the Articles, including all amendments and corrections is required.
Does it need to be an original copy?
How current does the certificate need to be?
It must be current within the last 12 months.
Will I need an Virginia registered agent for my LLC?
Yes. When you hire Northwest as your registered agent, it’s a flat rate yearly price of $125 a year, you’ll have an online account that tracks your report due dates, which states you are registered in, when your yearly service with us is up, and any documents we receive locally for you are uploaded into your account immediately for complete viewing. If or when you get served with a lawsuit, we can email up to 4 people and your attorney at the same time for real time complete viewing of a lawsuit. You’ll receive reminders to pay the Virginia annual registration fee. Our registered agent service is the same price every year, and there are no weird fees or cancellation fees.
You’ll also see all the pre-populated forms and specific filing instructions on the thank you page, in your online account, and they will be emailed to you immediately upon signing up for 1 year of registered agent service.
Does the Virginia registered agent need to sign the filing?
How can I file the Virginia Application for Registration?
By mail or in person.
What is the state agency that accepts the out of state registration?
Virginia State Corporation Commission
PO Box 1197
Richmond, VA 23218-1197
1300 E. Main Street
Tyler Building, 1st Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
Do the signatures on the Virginia LLC application need to be original?
Who has to sign the foreign LLC filing?
A manager or member of the LLC must sign the form.
Are there any weird things about registering in Virginia?
County filing or publication is not necessary for out of state LLCs, unless specifically required by the county in which your registered agent resides.
Are there ongoing Virginia annual report and/or initial reporting requirements?
Virginia annual registration fees must be paid by the last day of the anniversary month of your initial filing every year. No other reporting is required.
You may want to learn about Virginia taxes.
What are your fees?
You’ll need to have an Virginia registered agent. We charge $125 a year to act as your registered agent in Virginia. It’s a flat rate, once a year fee, and includes more than other registered agents. Here’s a little more about our registered agent service.
We charge a $100 one-time filing service fee if you would like us to obtain the certificates needed from your home state, and register your company in any state you choose. We have offices in every state and can act as your registered agent and make your filings for you in any state. If you would like to register with multiple states at once, we can usually drop our filing service fee down.