Utah Incorporation Services
To start a corporation in Utah, you must file Articles of Incorporation with the Division of Corporations & Commercial Code. You can file the document online, by mail or in person. The Articles of Incorporation cost $70 to file ($75 if you want to receive a faxed confirmation of your filing). Once filed with the state, this document formally creates your Utah corporation. However, to actually ready the corporation to do business, you must complete several additional steps.
Starting a Utah Corporation Guide:
Utah Corporation Filing Options
Skip the state fees! Get a Utah corporation and the best of our services today. Includes EIN, hassle-free maintenance, business address & mail forwarding, Privacy by Default®, local Corporate Guide® service, and everything you need to operate at full capacity.
Do It Yourself
Sign up for a free account and use our online tools to start your Utah corporation today. Includes Utah incorporation and maintenance walkthrough and company document creation. All for free.
Pay in Full
Includes Utah corporation, business address & free mail forwarding, Privacy by Default®, lifetime support from local Corporate Guides® and a year of registered agent service.
Utah Articles of Incorporation Requirements
To form a Utah corporation, you must complete and file the Articles of Incorporation with the Division of Corporations & Commercial Code. See the document below and click on any number to see what information is required in the corresponding section.
Your name must include “Corporation,” “Incorporated,” “Company,” or an abbreviation of one of these words. Tip: Most corporations keep it simple with “Corp” or “Inc.”
This question isn’t as existential as it sounds. Your purpose is what your business will actually do. It’s sufficient to put a general purpose, such as “to engage in any lawful act or activity for which corporations may be organized under the Utah Revised Business Corporation Act.”
For each class or series of shares, list the number of shares you’re creating.
List either a noncommercial agent (such as yourself) or a commercial agent (like Northwest). Tip: Wouldn’t it be wild if we didn’t recommend Northwest at this point?
If you have a noncommercial registered agent, you’ll need to list the Utah street address where they’ll be available to accept legal notifications. This address will become part of the permanent record of your corporation. Have a commercial registered agent like Northwest? No need to list an address—it’s already on file with the Division of Corporations & Commercial Code.
Your incorporator signs your Articles of Incorporation. You must have at least one incorporator, and all incorporators need to include their names and addresses. Your incorporator can be a director, officer, or someone outside your corporation that you authorize to submit your filing. Tip: We’ll be your incorporator when you hire Northwest to form your Utah corporation.
This is your main business address and where you’ll receive mail (besides legal notifications—these go to your registered agent). Tip: When you hire Northwest as your registered agent, you can use our Utah address as your principal address.
List the names and addresses of the directors and officers of your Utah corporation. You must eventually have at least one of each. If you haven’t sorted out your directors and officers yet, that’s okay—you can skip this section for now, but you’ll have to provide this information on your first Utah Annual Report. Tip: All the information in your Articles and reports is public. Instead of a personal address, you’re permitted to use a business address (which can be our address when you hire Northwest as your registered agent).
How much does it cost to start a Utah corporation?
The state filing fee to submit Utah Articles of Incorporation is $70, plus $5 if you want a faxed confirmation that your filing went through. Utah charges an additional $75 for expedited filings.
Hire Northwest to form your Utah corporation, and your total out-the-door cost is $300 ($375 expedited). Our price includes state fees, the $5 fax confirmation fee, a full year of registered agent service, and loads of forms and tools to help you get your new corporation up and running.
How long does it take to start a Utah corporation?
File online (which is fast but pretty confusing) or shell out an extra $75 to expedite your mailed filing. Either way, receive your approval in around 2 business days. Have time to spare? Mail your unexpedited filing to the Division of Corporations & Commercial Code (or better yet, hire Northwest to do it for you).
If you hire Northwest to start your corporation, we offer both 14-day and 2-day filing options.
Does a Utah corporation need a registered agent?
Absolutely. Your corporation is required to appoint and maintain a Utah registered agent. You can choose either a commercial agent or a noncommercial agent, such as yourself.
Being your own agent, however, is no picnic. You would have to list a registered office, which becomes part of the permanent public record of your Utah corporation. Data sellers, solicitors, and general busybodies can access this information, so listing your own address or office could mean losing valuable privacy. Also, registered agents need to be regularly available at their registered office. Since business isn’t limited to the office, being your own agent can hinder your ability to run your business as you need to.
Utah is famous for industrious, hard-working people (there’s a good reason the beehive is the state emblem). But working hard doesn’t mean you have to do it all yourself. that’s why many people forming a corporation in Utah hire a commercial registered agent like Northwest. Our address goes on your Articles of Incorporation instead of yours. We are ready and waiting to accept, scan and send any legal notices ASAP. You’re free to stay on top of your business—whether you’re at the office or mountain biking in Moab.
Create Bylaws for Your Utah Corporation
Do I need bylaws?
Yes, your Utah corporation needs bylaws. Bylaws are the internal rules you set for your business. They put into writing how decisions will be made and who gets to make those decisions.
Why are corporate bylaws important?
Your bylaws address a number of key topics and questions. Who will be on the board of directors? How long will they stay? How will they be replaced? How many members are needed to pass resolutions? How will you elect officers (and what will their rights and duties be)? What kind of shares will you authorize (and what rights and limitations will they have?.
Do I have to write bylaws?
Not from scratch. In life, some critical decisions are easy (Cougars or Utes?). Business decisions, however, are not so easy to figure out without careful consideration. Sometimes, even figuring out the right questions to ask can be difficult. Northwest can help here. When you hire us to form your Utah corporation, we give you free corporate bylaws. In addition to bylaws, we also give you forms for resolutions, meeting minutes and more. Let us help you start out on the right foot. Check out the free corporate forms we provide to help corporations form and maintain their businesses.
Get an EIN for Your Utah Corporation
Do I have to get a tax ID number (EIN)?
Yes, your Utah corporation will need to get a federal tax ID (also called an EIN or FEIN). You’ll use this ID when you submit your federal tax filings. You’ll likely use your ID for a variety of other paperwork as well, from opening a corporate bank account to applying for licenses and permits.
You can get your tax ID by filling out an application directly with the IRS. Or, skip this extra step and hire us to get your ID. During checkout, just tick the box that says “EIN Service” when you’re signing up for our Utah incorporation service.
Open a Bank Account for Your Utah Corporation
To open a corporate bank account, you will need to bring the following to the bank:
- A copy of the Utah corporation’s Articles of Incorporation
- The Utah corporation’s bylaws
- The Utah corporation’s EIN
If your bylaws don’t specifically assign the power to open a bank account, you may also want to bring a corporate resolution to open a bank account that states that the person going to the bank is authorized by the business to open the account in the name of the corporation.
We recommend calling your bank ahead of time before going in and asking what their requirements are. Most banks don’t open corporate accounts nearly as frequently as personal accounts, so some bankers may be unfamiliar with their own bank’s requirements. As frustrating as that may be for you, calling ahead will help save you from being super annoyed when you walk into the bank.
Obtain a Business License
Does a Utah corporation need a business license?
Yes, your Utah corporation must get a business license. Licenses are issued on a local level—you’ll get a business license from the city or town where your principal office is located.
For instance, if your principal office is in Ogden, you’ll submit an Ogden City Business License Application and filing fee, and then renew this license each year.
File Utah Corporation Reports
What is a Utah Annual Report?
Your Utah Annual Report is a form you submit to the Secretary of State each year to confirm your ownership and contact information. If you have to add or change any info in your report, you’ll also have to submit a Registration Information Change Form (free if filed with your Annual Report). The Utah Annual Report and $20 filing fee are due on the anniversary of your corporation’s registration. Forget to file? There’s a $10 late fee.
As your registered agent, Northwest will help you stay in compliance by sending you reminders to file your Annual Report. Prefer to cross this task off your “to do” list entirely? For $100 plus state fees, hire us to file your Annual Report for your Utah corporation.
How much does a corporation in Utah cost each year?
$20. This is the fee to submit the mandatory Utah Annual Report.
Pay Corporate Taxes
What are the taxes for a Utah corporation?
Utah corporations are subject to a franchise tax on net income. The rate is 4.95%, and there’s a minimum tax of $100.
Utah’s sales tax rate is 4.7%. Local areas can add on their own sales taxes as well. For example, the 6 largest cities in Utah (SLC, West Valley City, Provo, West Jordan, Orem and Sandy) all have a total sales tax rate of 6.85%. The total rate is slightly higher (7.1%) in Ogden and slightly lower in St. George (6.35%).