New Mexico Certificate of Authority for Foreign New Mexico CorporationWe’re Just Not Annoying®
FOREIGN NEW MEXICO CORPORATION
What does it cost to register a foreign corporation in New Mexico?
$200 minimum up to $1,000 maximum for normal processing (filing fee is determined by the number of authorized shares of the corporation and the estimated dollar amounts provided in item #10 of the application).
$25 for non-profit.
$100 additional for 2 day expedited processing.
$150 additional for 1 day expedited processing.
How long does it take for the state to process the New Mexico Certificate of Authority?
Normal Processing: up to 1 month, plus additional time for mailing.
Expedited Processing: 1 or 2 day expedited processing is available.
How will I get verification of qualification back from New Mexico?
A Certificate of Authority and a copy of the filed application will be returned to you by mail.
What forms do I file with New Mexico to qualify my out of State Corporation?
The Application for Certificate of Authority form in duplicate, a Statement of Acceptance of Appointment by Designated Initial Registered Agent form, a Certificate of Good Standing or Existence and the filing fee are required.
What do I need from my home state?
A Certificate of Good Standing or Existence is required.
Does it need to be an original copy?
Yes, unless electronically issued.
How current does the certificate need to be?
It must be current within 30 days of filing.
Will I need an New Mexico registered agent for my corporation?
Yes, when you hire Northwest as your registered agent, it’s a flat rate yearly price of $125 a year. You’ll have an online account that tracks your report due dates, which states you’re registered in, when your yearly service with us is up, and any documents we receive locally for you are uploaded into your account immediately for complete viewing. If or when you get served with a lawsuit, we can email up to 4 people and your attorney at the same time for real time complete viewing of a lawsuit. You’ll receive annual report reminders. It’s the same price every year, and there are no weird fees or cancellation fees.
You’ll also see all the pre-populated forms and specific filing instructions on the thank you page, in your online account, and they are emailed to you immediately upon signing up for 1 year of registered agent service in New Mexico.
Does the New Mexico registered agent need to sign the filing?
How can I file the New Mexico Certificate of Authority?
By mail or in person.
What is the state agency that accepts the out of state registration?
State of New Mexico
Public Regulations Commission
Chartered Documents Division
PO Box 1269
Santa Fe, NM 87504-1269
Do the signatures on the New Mexico corporation application need to be original?
One signature needs to be an original and the duplicate can be a copy.
Who has to sign the foreign corporation filing?
An authorized officer of the corporation.
Are there any weird things about registering in New Mexico?
County filing or publication is not necessary, unless specifically required by the county in which your registered agent resides.
Are there ongoing New Mexico annual report and/or initial reporting requirements?
You will want to do a name search for yourself on their website to verify your reporting due date. It will show you your good standing through date and that is the same as your report due date.
New Mexico profit corporations have an initial report due that will get mailed to you once your initial filing is complete, and is due within 30 days. Profit corporations also have a biennial report.
Non-profit corporations have an annual report due every year on the 15th day of the 5th month after their fiscal close, which is usually May 15th.
For specific examples and more detailed information regarding this, you can review the additional NM Annual Report information provided on our website.
What are your fees?
You’ll need to have an New Mexico registered agent. We charge $125 a year to act as your registered agent in New Mexico. It’s a flat rate, once a year fee, and includes more than other registered agents. Here’s a little more about our registered agent service.
We charge a $100 one-time filing service fee if you would like us to obtain the certificates needed from your home state, and register your company in any state you choose. We have offices in every state and can act as your registered agent and make your filings for you in any state. If you would like to register with multiple states at once, we can usually drop our filing service fee down.